You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on being muted by the #plantpower community. Do you think this is fair?

people have migrated the shitty social and societal problems with it.

Unfortunately, people have done that for millennia, we are just expanding into a virtual realm, I'm afraid. A safe space can only exist in a closed group and we have no closed groups on the blockchain.

I absolutely understand your anxieties, I've lived with them all my life. Sadly if you want to put yourself out there in any way, in our case through writing, you have to either develop a thick skin or find ways to deal with the things that knock your confidence. For me it helps trying to see the other side and understand where they are coming from. Most of the time these are good people trying to deal with things and advise on correct tag or community usage. Once I've gotten over the initial shock of being told I've done the wrong thing then I rationalise and ask for further advice. The majority of the time the conversation ends in a good way.

Sort:  

My definition of a safe space - in the context of the hive blockchain - is simply a community where you do not have to worry about the moderators muting you due to miscommunications or errors. Also, we have the freedom to approach the style of content creation in the way that we choose. Without being told to extend ourselves to match outdated criteria that is not very holistic. There are lots of ways to get to know a person apart from formal intros.

These two things are very achievable here, and certainly do not require a closed group. I realize that we all have different opinions, interests, outlooks and emotional states. Having a safe space isn't putting anyone into bubble wrap - we still have to be accountable for our own stuff. For me, it just means putting your best effort out there - and knowing that it means something. You are not just another cog in the wheel.