Sort:  

Audio editing is hard enough and I think a lot of people are not going to watch long talky videos. I think the podcast is a great format. I need to put more effort into my music one.

I always remember a conversation with a Wolves-LUG member who couldn't understand how:
A. It was almost impossible to stick to, say, a 60-minute timescale.
B. How it took SO LONG to edit a show.

For us (And most of our contemporaries), it was tough to stop talking about an important topic or something either of us felt passionate about, which ultimately pushed the total time well over any perceived limits.

While on the whole, we took the view "Publish and be damned", there were certain things that it was prudent to remove or, as best I could, endeavour to improve the sound quality, something, sadly, I never achieved. That all takes time. As has been said, Nearly every show we released I must have listened to at least six or more times. It became very dull after a while.

I do think any podcast over an hour has to be really good to justify so much of my time, even when I listen at 1.5x speed. Can depend if you want pure information or are happy to listen to waffle.

For my shows editing is mostly about removing pauses and 'er/um' that would get tedious. It doesn't take too long. I want to do some with other people and that will complicate matters. Need to get the basics right, e.g. decent microphones. Editing gets quicker with experience. Given how few listeners I have I am not going to put too much time into it.

I marvel at those who can do weekly shows. There are some that do more frequent, but then you have to issue of finding time to listen. My podcast time is either when running or driving, but I do little of the latter these days.

That always amazed me about Linux Outlaws in fact it used to annoy me TBH. I used to complain bitterly to Matt: "How do they do it? With everything else, they do how do they find the time to record, edit and produce every week? It takes me over a week to do our show."

It was just routine for them. I guess they had everything set up and probably had some scripts to automate stuff. I think I remember Dan saying he could see 'er' or 'um' on the waveform and so just snip it out. Just talking without too many cockups is a skill in itself.

I've listened to a few of Fab's privacy shows, but they are a bit long and he says stuff that annoys me :)