Remember me!

in #podcast3 years ago

Just over five years ago I stopped Podcasting. The Dick Turpin Road Show was moderately successful but for me the greatest achievement is when someone pops up out of the blue and says:

Neil Darlow @neildarlow
Here's me joining a new Mastodon instance and I ask myself "I wonder if there's any podcasters on here?".

Then I take a look at @dick_turpin's profile and my question is answered.

Not wanting to pretend I was still recording I replied:

Sadly, I haven't done anything for probably five years.

Neil came back with:

I saw that. Maybe we could shake things up a little sometime in the future?

The whole point of this post is to show you something. Keep doing whatever it is you do because while most of us sensible people fill the Internet with our outpourings mainly for our own enjoyment now and again you touch someones life and if you're really lucky five or more years down the line they'll remember you and remind you how it was all worthwhile.


"If you don't have enough voting power or crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

My actual name is Pete

Find out Here why I have the username dick_turpin.


Find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
http://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

@dickturpin you could write a little tidbit on what you learned from your podcasting experience.

a bit reminiscent of an old gaming magazine I used to read it had a section that went something like this:

"What ever you do not take and put it in a dark liquid such a coke or pepsi and give it to your friend. They'll be peeing blue for weeks!"

Take that in mind and just make it about podcasting. "Whatever you do don't attempt to do a video podcast. You'll learn to hate looking at your own ugly mug once you get into hour 7 of video editing to get the audio and video in sync. That hilarious joke stops being funny after you've heard it 500 times while trying to get the edit just right"

Just a thought. :D

I did consider vlogging, but it's not for me. As many have said: "Pete, you have the perfect face for radio." 🤣

Audio editing is hard enough and I think a lot of people are not going to watch long talky videos. I think the podcast is a great format. I need to put more effort into my music one.

I always remember a conversation with a Wolves-LUG member who couldn't understand how:
A. It was almost impossible to stick to, say, a 60-minute timescale.
B. How it took SO LONG to edit a show.

For us (And most of our contemporaries), it was tough to stop talking about an important topic or something either of us felt passionate about, which ultimately pushed the total time well over any perceived limits.

While on the whole, we took the view "Publish and be damned", there were certain things that it was prudent to remove or, as best I could, endeavour to improve the sound quality, something, sadly, I never achieved. That all takes time. As has been said, Nearly every show we released I must have listened to at least six or more times. It became very dull after a while.

I do think any podcast over an hour has to be really good to justify so much of my time, even when I listen at 1.5x speed. Can depend if you want pure information or are happy to listen to waffle.

For my shows editing is mostly about removing pauses and 'er/um' that would get tedious. It doesn't take too long. I want to do some with other people and that will complicate matters. Need to get the basics right, e.g. decent microphones. Editing gets quicker with experience. Given how few listeners I have I am not going to put too much time into it.

I marvel at those who can do weekly shows. There are some that do more frequent, but then you have to issue of finding time to listen. My podcast time is either when running or driving, but I do little of the latter these days.

That always amazed me about Linux Outlaws in fact it used to annoy me TBH. I used to complain bitterly to Matt: "How do they do it? With everything else, they do how do they find the time to record, edit and produce every week? It takes me over a week to do our show."

It was just routine for them. I guess they had everything set up and probably had some scripts to automate stuff. I think I remember Dan saying he could see 'er' or 'um' on the waveform and so just snip it out. Just talking without too many cockups is a skill in itself.

I've listened to a few of Fab's privacy shows, but they are a bit long and he says stuff that annoys me :)

on a side note, I do miss your podcast that was a fun listen when you and matt were still going at it.

It was a fun show. I miss it and Linux Outlaws. Some of the other shows take things too seriously. The Ubuntu one is good though. I just don't have as much time for podcasts now as when I was driving for 2 or 3 hours per day.

It's always nice to get good feedback. Sometimes it feels like you are screaming into the void, but there may be someone listening.

!BEER


Hey @dickturpin, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.