Stormy (Original Poem)

in #poem8 years ago

I see a great storm happen
Once in a year
The black clouds roll in
Bringing thunderous roars
And it always scares me
How quickly it comes
A sunny afternoon
Swept away before me

It once was the case
That I fled inside
At the sight of black clouds
To weather the storm through
I shut all the shudders
And turned on the lights
But the shudders would flail against my walls
And the lights would fade
I would wait out the storm
Wait it out through blackness

But you showed me how silly it was
To be afraid of a storm
You took my by the hand
Led me outside to see
That a storm was nothing more
Than thunder and rain
And wind in the trees

You sat next to me
Until the storm passed
Smiled and told me
There would be an end
The sun would come shine
The sky would be blue again

It's times like now
When the sky begins to darken
I think of you
And I go wait outside
Wait for the storm that is near
Because I know it's what you'd do
If you were still here