My Poem - "Wick"

in #poem7 years ago (edited)


Blinded by tears,restricted by silenced ambivalence,
Somedays I hate everyone, everything.
Somedays I pretend I'm dead and step outside myself.
My nights are often as black as my heart as i wear this sardistic smile,
My days melt my skin and all my fears silently fall from my shoulders.

Every minute,every hour,every second of everyday, it's all just words in my head.
In my dreams i see your smile,hear your laugh,smell your skin.
Between the lines of sight and undivided attention I can look you in the eye,
Bathing in your love you always know the words to calm me.

Like a candle burning my heart ignites for them all to see,seductive flames lick your thoughts.
Opening my hands with caution and curiosity I'm able to send you love and I do,
Taking several steps back i misjudge and fall head over heels into my own mistakes.
Delicately piecing together remnants of my broken soul I now have nothing to say,
Some days I hate everyone, everything.
And this candles wick still burns incandescently white.


I wrote this many years ago, as a reflection of how it feels in my mind when I try to connect with those around me.
I often find it difficult to explain myself in a way others can understand, so this is the easiest way :)

This is my first post on steemit, sorry in advance for any mistakes. Can you let me know in the comments below, if there is anything that I could do better.

I just want to say a massive thank you to all the people that helped me with my new mouse, and part of my new computer, that I'm using to write this post. Each one of you helped contribute to my life in a very significant way, to which I am immensely thankful for.

I really appreciate all the support and niceties.

Thank you so much for taking the time to view my work today. Embrace all your dreams!

@StellarBelle


stellarbelle-footer.jpg

Image source - https://pixabay.com/en/candle-flame-water-candlelight-1042087/

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

I love it. <3 WICK!

oh thankyou :)

Welcome to Steemit and the poem is very powerful. I am following you.

THIS is a Strong Follow!
Rose is my all time favorite poet ;)

Lovely poem and a warm welcome to steemit!

Beautiful. Some days I hate everything too.
<3

Very nice, I love poets.

Welcome to you!

@originalworks

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @ellievallie. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stellarbelle to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Thank you so much for waiting patiently while I sorted it all out. <3

Welcome to Steem it, enjoy being minnow queen and voting all the things. :)

I hope you have a great time here creating and curating. <3

Welcome to Steemit! I have been eagerly awaiting your arrival, I am glad it got sorted!
For a first post, this is beautiful. Such a lovely poem. This line especially vibed deep with me:
Opening my hands with caution and curiosity I'm able to send you love and I do,
Taking several steps back i misjudge and fall head over heels into my own mistakes

That feeling is hard to put into such concise words and you nailed it.

I look forward to what you'll share with blockchain! I already knew you painted but had no idea that you wrote as well!

I'm a woman of many talents, as I can paint, write & I also sing. Thankyou for your nice comment, it's always nice when the words you write, or just being creative in general, reaches someone. Thanks alot :)

I would like to welcome you to Steemit. I believe you will enjoy your time here.

As for the post, it is a solid start to your journey here.

Welcome.

Thanks, I'm glad that you like it :)

I did. It spoke to me very clearly.

Hello @stellarbelle, this is a lovely piece. I can relate, as some days I don't want to be near anyone, but as soon as I close my eyes, I find myself longing to be embraced, intoxicated by a love that could never be. Welcome to Steemit! You're doing a good job, keep your thoughts you, and take any feedback with a grain of salt. All the love! :3

@shello

I'm glad that you could relate to what I wrote. I've always found it difficult to relate to and speak with people, so it's nice to have someone to just have a general chat to :)

You're very much welcome. My facade and demeanor is always a bright, carefree manner, so many people assume that I'm extroverted. Everyone is a mirror of yourself, so when talking with others I try to imagine that and how I would like to be talked to. Sometimes it can feel lonely on here, but be yourself and enjoy. There really is a lot to explore in Steemit :3 The pleasure was all mine

Welcome to steemit and that is an amazing poem. I have tried my hands at writing poems before sadly...I always mess up. Maybe I should ask for pointers from you from time to time.

If you like, I'm happy to help you compose something.
Thanks for the compliment, I'm glad you liked what I wrote :)

Thanks, I want to compose a poem soon hopefully one for my daughter.

Love it :) keep up girl!

I'm hoping that it will be a daily thing, but there's a lot to remember at the moment. Working on it :)

Wow that's great!

Thanks, I'm glad you like it :)

i will second that hello, and welcome, and say poetry offers a wonderful way to express emotions. hope to see you in discord :)

I'll do my best to talk to you, I'm still getting used to how everything works :)

There is a huge learning curve the first few weeks. don't let it daunt you.

Welcome to Steemit! Your poem is amazing, it really touches me. You will do great here, just focus on making friends and create:-) And also remember to have a lot of fun<3

Thanks, I'm glad that you liked what I wrote. I haven't composed much recently, but I find it easier to write than I do to talk, so forgive me if I don't seem to have much to say on the platform, I'm not much of a public speaker.

Not me either:-) But chatting is like writing more than talking <3

Wow, that is an amazing poem. That is exactly the same reason that invokes me to write poetry. I find it easier to connect with people that way. I know exactly how you feel to, cos I am in often in that place too.

Thanks, I'm glad you like it. I don't write as often as I'd like, but now I might :)

I'm not a big poetry guy, but this is powerful for sure. Thanks for posting!

Thanks, I'm glad that you liked it :)

This post received a 5% vote by @netuoso courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Be sure to go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses, scroll to the bottom of the page, and vote for @netuoso.

This post has been resteemed by @msp-shanehug courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post received a 5% vote by @msp-shanehug courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Welcome to Steemit!
I hope you will have a wonderful time!

and btw very very very nice post!

Thankyou, I don't write as often as I would like. Sometimes it's hard to get my brain and fingers to work collaboratively with eachother haha! I'm working at some more recent stuff, but still getting used to how everything works :)

Well done, and welcome! :)

Congratulations! You are one of the lucky few, whose post received so much appreciation within its first hour. My total account value, after spending a month here is less than, your current rewards. Lol! And because, I know how hard it is to get noticed, I'm really happy for you! I hope you make a lot of money, and more importantly, a lot of great friends. Luck!

Thankyou :) Money is nice, but I'm just here to write, and talk to some people. But I never really know what to say.
I like your picture :)

Thanks! Well I still wish you luck! Because money, gives you power on Steemit and helps you grow. So all my best wishes! If you need a Steemit friend, just look me up!

amazing. just... amazing.
*speechless.

Thanks, submitting new material later this evening :)

Welcome! I have heard a lot about you from Sammosk. I look forward to seeing you post. :)

Thanks, I've been working a new piece, which I'll post later this evening. I hope you like it :)
All good things I hope.

I will try and stop by to look. Life has been a little hectic lately.

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Such a powerful piece! I felt your frustration; saw the battle you were facing within yourself. Look forward to more of your creative and insightful pieces.

Thanks alot, I'm hoping to have some new material up later tonight.

Please keep being creative by all means!!! Speaks to many <3

This post has been resteemed by @msp-lovebot courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Well done here, and welcome to Steemit. I like your passionate poetry. Great start, and keep at it through the ups and downs! Steemit is like a tiny reflection of the world in a water droplet. Sometimes it goes well and all is right in the world, and sometimes it looks completely upside down. :)

My world always looks perpendicular to how it should be, that's what makes life interesting :)

Good to see another poet. Welcome to Steemit!

Very nice :) I love me some poetry! I do this thing called codependent poetry where I get a few people together and make the poem out of our conversation. I was going to try to do one tonight but we will see! I loved this piece though. It is interesting to go back over the years and look at old works. #openmic (I believe) and #slamit are both good tags for the poet section and a a place to find support for critiques etc. Do you do slam poetry ever or spoken word?

I don't know what slam poetry is. I've never done spoken word before, I usually just write what's in my head at the time. Thankyou for such nice words, I hope I can read some things that you write :)

OOOH! Are you Sammo's friend from OZ?
GREAT to finally have you on here, long time waiting to see you!
That is so good, dark and deep. I can feel the intensity! :D

Instant F.U.R.R. for you, and a cool looking avatar! ;)

the avatar is me :)
Thanks, I'm glad you like my piece, I've been working on some new material. What does 'furr' mean? I don't really like abbreviations, they can mean anything :)

OK, Cool, it is actually an acronym LOL!!!

FURR is Followed Up-Voted Replied and Re-STEEMED!
So we have another attractive young lady ;)
I am glad you used yourself! ;)

Yes, this is the artist from the post I made a few weeks back.

Welcome @stellarbelle, your creativity with poem is incredible, very beautiful. Congratulations! Luck and success here!

Thankyou, I really appreciate it. I don't write as often as I should, but now since people are willing to read and supply honest opinions on them, I'll post more frequently :)

:) I like it, this reminds me of my own journey in some ways. Feels more like it's raining in my head though. Thanks for sharing.

Thankyou, I'm glad that I could conjure such an experience for you. I don't write as often as I should, but there will be some newer entries fairly soon :)

So happy to have another awesome, heartfelt and genuine creative here on Steemit. <3 Your words matter. Keep sharing them friend!

If you like what I write, you'll be happy to know that I'm composing a new entry, which I'll share later :)

Will look out for it for sure! <3

Hello stellarbelle I'm very glad you made it all the way to Steemit. I spoke briefly to you today in discord with @sammosk.
I hope you like it here and will post lots of great creative stuff. Often times it's easier to communicate with paint or prose than with boring old words.
I'm now following you and hope to see you in MSP again :-)

Hello. Thankyou very much. I don't find words boring :) I hope we can talk more soon :)

You're welcome. :-)

Hi, shiny one. Trust me we were really excited for you to come on board, and you seem to land with a bang. I am glad we have you as addition to the family. Nigeria says hi. Steem on. We look to better days together. I enjoyed the poem. Could relate for the most part.

Thanks, I'm glad you liked what I wrote, I have been working on some new material, which I'll post in the evening.

Welcome and congrats for making it to Steemit! I really enjoyed your poem, especially hearing the explanation afterwards - that gave it context and more meaning for me. :)

wow...looks like your heart is full...you are about to flood steemit.. lol welcome!

A great piece of work @stellarbelle
Welcome to Steemit.

What a carefully and beautifully chosen choice of words .. thank you for sharing.

Thanks alot :) I'm glad you liked what I wrote, I don't write as often as I should, but now that I have a little more time, it's likely that you'll get to read more of my material.

Thank you and I will look forward to it.

Welcome to steemit , Your poems are so beautiful make everyone can love you and love you, I upvote and follow you @stellarbelle

Congratulations @stellarbelle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen to feature in today's Muxxybot curation post!

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-14

tip!
This is another voting option to use for fluffing your totals in any post ;)
Good Luck, @stellarbelle!

Thanks for the help :)

This post has been resteemed by @nettybot courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Be sure to go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses, scroll to the bottom of the page, and vote for @netuoso.

This post has been resteemed by @netuoso courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Be sure to go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses, scroll to the bottom of the page, and vote for @netuoso.

@fishmon got you a $1.61 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@fishmon got you a $1.61 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

There are 2 pages
Pages