Khayyam The Philosophical poet | رباعیات خیام | #2

in #poetry7 years ago

In this series of poems, I'll gather the great philosophical poet, known as Khayyam's poems
his poetry is simple, short and deep




Who was it brought thee here at nightfall, who?
Forth from the harem in this manner, who?
To him who in thy absence burns as fire,
And trembles like hot air, who was it, who?



A brief info on poet :

Omar Khayyám, was a Persian polymath, scholar, mathematician, astronomer, philosopher, and poet, widely considered to be one of the most influential thinkers of the Middle Ages. He also wrote numerous treatises on mechanics, geography, mineralogy, astronomy and music.

Source : http://classics.mit.edu/Khayyam/rubaiyat.html
IF YOU LIKE MY POSTS , PLEASE UPVOTE AND RESTEEM TO SUPPORT!

Sort:  

As Always an awesome post from you, Appreciated! Maybe checkout my blog ??

Khayyam was a great poet, I like him

lovely :)
I love Rumi too, his poetry is amazing.

sure it is!

what does رباعيات mean if you don't mind me asking :)

It means his poems are 4 verses and its his poetry style

interesting! That's an Arabic word I believe, rubaa'iyyat as in four by four

A beautiful poem, spare but full of meaning. I like it.