A Broken Family Tree

in #poetry6 years ago

I am one of many
Small branches of a broken tree,
Always looking to the ones above
For guidance, strength and security.
One little branch trying
To keep the others from breaking away.
Who will fall?
And who will stay?
Now I stand alone,
Looking at the earth through the rain,
And I see the broken branches I knew
Scattered about me in pain.
There are those who have taken an ax
To the root of our very foundation
And who have passed this destruction
Down to every new generation.
If I could take that ax,
I would toss it deep into the sea,
Never to return again
To harm the generations that follow me.
I am one of many,
But alone I will go
And plant the new seeds
Where a beautiful tree will grow.

2CFE0C2C-3033-4015-A357-4E0FDCB5D8B0.jpeg
Source: https://www.familyfriendpoems.com/poem/tradition-poem-a-broken-family-tree

Sort:  

Source
Copying/Pasting full or partial texts without adding anything original is frowned upon by the community. Repeated copy/paste posts could be considered spam. Spam is discouraged by the community, and may result in action from the cheetah bot.

More information and tips on sharing content.

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #disputes on Discord

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Thank you :)

Great poem. The imagery in your words tells a great story. Then the picture tops it off for a great post.