Xoetry #1- I Am Not the Story I Told About Me

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

As I mentioned in my introduceyourself , I am excited to share excerpts from my journals; when I get the courage to be that vulnerable. That includes some of my poems and lyrics, which I felt inspired to share here now.
From time to time I go through my journal and find the poems that seem lyrical. Then I write them down on sheets so I can call upon them in the musical laboratory called the Gaia Experiment, @gaiaexperiment. So perhaps someday you will hear some of them again in another form.
I decided to start at the beginning of my current journal, as I am in process of scribing its last pages. It spans from December 5th, 2015 to now. I've been writing a bit slower than usual these past few years, but it is a thick one. It's the first poem I found in there, though not the first one it contains. It seemed very resonant with my recent introduction post as well.

February 8th, 2016
I am not the story I told about me.
I am that which is becoming what I am meant to be
Free now from constraints I placed around me in shame
Break through restraints constructed in rationalized blame

I am not the story I told
Once upon a time, yesterdays and long agos
Once upon a time sounds like this song I know
Broken records repeating patterns
Like every 7 years I have to face Saturn's
return to innocence, We are still
Though we live for the thrill
Of memories, who we think we are
Truth is we're all just fallen star~
dust
I trust this is all I have to be,
because I am not the story I told about me.

This image is from a collector's plate called "Sharing Secrets" painted by Donald Zolan in 1988 from a photograph of me and my cousin taken by my great uncle. I'm not sure why, but it came to mind after reading this poem today, and I found lots of them posted on ebay! Strange whats "lurking" around on the interweb.

I pray that you enjoyed~~~

Infinte Love,
Alexstacy

LATEST POST

Tips to Make Some USD In a Pinch or How I Survived Babylon So Far In 2018

Sort:  

@alexstacy your state of life and emotions leading up to February 8th, 2016, are brilliantly captured in that heartfelt poem.

They say "a picture paints a thousand words" but words, when expressed as beautifully as yours, trump any picture.

Sometimes having that courage to wear your heart on your sleeve opens doors to people/things that may surprise you in positive ways. Cheers!

Oh I get surprised in all the ways.... but my heart must remain as open as I can bare to allow it.