Old Man - aka 'in retrospective'

in #poetry5 years ago

Old Man - in retrospective
(prosaic poem in doublets, once for a Contest)
portrait-3113651_640.jpg

Many couples entranced in their bout of love and hate;
United by their own hormones' pseudo-decree of fate.
Crippled souls, compulsively whipped forth on and on.
No sense for precaution, until that fatal virus has won.
The Loneliness sucks and yes a relationship sucks, too.
Love won't force God to play butler for me, nor for you.
Any overdose of trust, blind faith, or even just wrath;
And before our next round starts the winner is Death!
Still love does grant strength, to go on with our life;
Compared to wisdom she is a more comforting wife.
I am old, sick, and abandoned now, yet looking back;
I feel Love, Joy, and Hatred in a heart once so black!
Poverty, envy, and sickness had banished me before.
Yet I lived love & hate before I reached Death's door.
The young ones storm forwards, to feel it themselves.
Keeping that spirit, like Gandalf kept it with the Elves.
Some lessons of my life felt like a kick below the belt.
Yet what is left of life, if one has thought, but not felt?
I've never asked, nor begged, God to be forgiven at all.
For I had to make my own choices and answer the Call.
We both know such sermon does not make us friends.
Yet now it's time that my crappy attempt of poetry ends!
cannabis-divider-lime.png

Sort:  

A pity you added the last two lines - they trivialise the rest of it, which is good (my opinion - I guess you added them as a way of laughing at yourself?)