Chaos, then a light

in #poetry2 years ago (edited)

Chaos
Image source

What's on the list to do today? That's right, I need
to read 10 chapters of Moby Dick, run to the library
and print off my reading response --I really need
to get a new toothbrush -- for my class about
water, then run to the lab to start a culture for my
experiment tomorrow (which will take forever
so I'll probably have to stay later than normal
which is frustrating because it isn't even my major
anymore) then I need to run to the practice room
-- how is our kitchen floor always so sticky?-- to
start working on the new percussion ensemble piece
(because you know that your professor knows
that you didn't practice and you need to do better
next time), then grab lunch somewhere on campus
(spending money again? really Chandler?) while I
read some British poetry to catch up for that class,
then go to class and rush to the next one, then grab
a snack and home -- how are there no clean forks? --
and try to get a little bit more homework done (if
you hadn't played that video game last night, you
wouldn't be in this predicament) before I have to rush
off to dinner and then a chapter meeting, then finally
come home and go straight to bed (because you
know how important it is to keep up a good sleep
schedule and if you don't keep it up then you are going
to feel worse than you already do and it will be entirely
your fault) and then do it all again the next day. ​How
many weeks until the semester is over again? Screw that,
how many days until this week is over? Three days. Just
three days. I can make it three days. Right? I don't
know. But if I don't handle this, things will fall apart,
I'll start failing classes and failing people and then
what? No, I have to do all of these things. I can make it
to the weekend. Just three days. But will I even get to
rest this weekend? I also have to visit my family and go
to the bank and the grocery store an-

breath in

breath out

I sit down,

breath in

breath out

I close my eyes,

breath in

breath out

and I enter the presence of God.

Sort:  

Congratulations @chandlerd! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 18
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!