Behind The Mask

in #poetry2 years ago

BEACF66E-453D-4A89-A014-14DD71245A0D.png

How much longer will you last behind your mask? Do you cringe at your silence? Does the desire to reveal what you really feel haunt you?

The truth sinks you under as you wrestle with the lies that your mask provides. You’re stuck in this cycle with the mission to please and be accepted. Does that matter more than being true to who you are?

The fear of being shunned and rejected causes you to crumble and ignore the nonsense being projected. Your heart rate rises as sweat exudes from your body when you go along with the status quo. “NO”, your inner loins tighten as you silently scream wishing you’d allowed your true emotions to be upfront on the scene.

Behind the mask you are a shell to reality as it takes over your true substance. Who are you? Where are you? When will you return? How have you survived this charade for so long?

The stronghold so powerful that it dims your light being threatened by your essence and the radiance so bright. Allowing the mask to outshine your beam you lose yourself in the midst of it’s gleam. Haven’t you had enough? When will you surrender and give up this masquerade?

0FBF3C1B-3AF7-48D9-86DD-B03C648C0C6B.jpeg

That’s a little better. Less mask more you as you begin seeing the toll it takes suppressing your true thoughts and opinions. Conceal don’t feel don’t let it show, we all know how that story goes. Inhibiting what’s real eats you up inside causing all sorts of resentment and regret.

Surround yourself by those you can comfortably speak your mind aloud to.

Is all this silence really a worth? You think you’re making things better when in fact your voice could very well calm the weather. Some live a life so false that a trickle of truth could change their lives forever for the better…

Be the change they are scared to be. Speak up be free! Don’t restrain nor refrain from being the YOU that the US needs to see.

Unzip your lips take back hold the control of what’s been stole by those who can’t handle what you as a whole behold…when in front of that mask. Unashamed stand and proclaim the God-given gifts of intuition, instinct and intellect you possess. Use them boldly and reclaim your position making provisions for your coming decisions.

Break free from that shell that’s behind the mask. Don’t damper your mood due to other’s unstable temperaments. If you’re happy then smile, if you’re sad then cry, no need for mixed up pantomimes.

B46580D2-FFF0-45BC-AA59-A6E02A217430.jpeg

You’re on the right track and almost there. The mask is slowly fading away. Only a piece still covers the real you.

Keep heading in that direction and soon you’ll remember how good it feels to feel and reveal what’s real. Come now, just a little closer and this facade will be through. When finally and forever the mask is…

Behind You.


All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.

Sort:  

Amazing! I once read and there's a theory about child development that we create masks to be able to make sense of what we see around us. As the adult world can be very hard to understand and full of ambiguous and messy stuff. This results in wounds that therefore we create those masks to protect yourselfs from the outside world.

In this theory it is said that we need to forgive and thank those "mask self" as they were part of us that adapted in order to stay alive.

I find it's not always easy to let your oppinions and voice freely speak. But thankfully here on Hive I found out I can trully speak my mind. No fears (well, a little bit 😆), full heart and the hope to be a contributor to the community 🤗

Thank you for the reminder to be true to yourself 😃

That's a very interesting theory. Probably would never have looked it at that way. I do see these masks as a form of protection or shield.

I feel many people hide behind masks because they don't feel good enough or confident enough in their own feelings and choices (at least that was why I hid behind mine for so long). Once I realized my worth and value (found through Jesus Christ) I never had to hide behind it or use it to shield me ever again.

That’s one of the reasons I’ve been on this platform for so long. It’s a judgment free open zone to speak your mind and express yourself. I’m glad you already feel comfortable here and the more you write the more relaxed you’ll become. ☺️

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and provide your input ~ ❤️

Hey there! Sorry for the delayed repply but it's been a few busy couple of days (I like to think a little bit on my replies beforehand and I found myself with low energy this days) ^^ I hope you are well 😁

I'm so glad you found your value and worth in your own way! Because you have it, so much. As far as I know you, you're input and help made a difference in my experience in this journey. So I want you to know you are valued and thank you 💜

Regarding to me, I feel I'm slowly learning about my own value and worth and not being afraid to show it. It took quite a lot of reflection to identify and change old behaviours that are not getting me to where I wanna be.

I totally get what you're saying about this being a judgement free open zone! I felt it since my very first post and it has given me confidence to express myself even outside this screen I'm facing! I really see a positive change in myself and I believe that coming to Hive and discovering all of this love and respected freedomn through this types of interactions with awesome people!

Hugs! 🤗

No apologies necessary. Being here long enough I’ve learned that when people have the time to comment back they will ;)

As far as I know you, you're input and help made a difference in my experience in this journey. So I want you to know you are valued and thank you 💜

Thank you so much for that sweet comment. ☺️🤗

I am glad that you are seeing and figuring out your own value. I think this is important for everyone to find as it keeps us motivated and going.

I love hearing that other people feel the same way in regards to how this platform is. I hope you continue on this path, enjoying yourself as you discover exactly what you’re made of.

Stay encouraged ~ 💛

I will! 💜

amazing, I really enjoy reading, the words included are very accurate

Thank you so much! ☺️

you're welcome, keep up the good work and produce amazing posts

'22 feels like the year the 'masks' come off.........all of 'em, physical and metaphorical.

You’re on the right track and almost there. The mask is slowly fading away. Only a piece still covers the real you.

mask.jpg

I hope that's true for many.

Thanks for the visit and comment. Love the photo you included ~

Your poetry is so beautiful, @crosheille. For me, this is also an afterthought, as well as a moral lesson. You wrote very long. Exactly, it's a poetry essay. 😊

Thank you @akukamaruzzaman! I'm glad you enjoyed the poetry. It was a personal challenge for me to make it longer than 1 or 2 minutes. 😁

This poem was birthed through true events…my younger self was the one behind the mask. I will never hide behind another one again.

Thanks for the visit ~

Lovely and quite interesting as well.

Thank you and I appreciate you reading ~

@crosheille
What a great poetry 💝
"The fear of being shunned and rejected causes you to crumble and ignore the nonsense being projected. Your heart rate rises as sweat exudes from your body when you go along with the status quo. “NO”, your inner loins tighten as you silently scream wishing you’d allowed your true emotions to be upfront on the scene."

We always think that there are lier everywhere and our truth must rejected. This thinking force us to ignore the nonsense being projected.
You really a great poet of creative poetry. My father is also poet but his poetry is in Urdu language.
@ziabutt3836

Thank you so much @ziabutt3836. I really appreciate you taking the time to read it. 😊