I'D RATHER BE HERE, STAR GAZING 🌌☄✨

in #poetry6 years ago

gif_04-15-09.47.16.gif

I'm right here with you yet so far away
You see me, you hear me, you hold me
We talk, we laugh
Yet I'm on this rooftop, gazing at the stars.
I'm around everyone yet all alone
I'm at a cocktail party, dressed in a beautiful scarlet gown, with my fro crown on my head, adorned with priceless silver jewelry, surrounded by wonderful people
And yet the stars draw me away from the crowd.
They are like nothing I've seen before,
Pure,
Dazzling and consuming
I'm lost in their eyes.
There are times, I could see smiling faces on each star looking down on me
It warms my heart, clears my heart too.
The air is great, it flows alongside my spirit
I'm at rest
I've spent many nights on this very rooftop when in fact I was supposed to be somewhere else.
No doubt, I like it here.
This very rooftop has been quite enchanting, I remember the first time I stood here, I was troubled, with no clue of its power until my eyes caught a star,
And then another,
And yet another.
Now all I want to do is stare
I never want to leave.
I'm trapped,
But my cell is beautiful.
Much more beautiful than the world beyond the walls.
I can't think of some of some other place I'd rather be
I'd rather be here... Star gazing

@darnick
PS:digital art by me

Sort:  

Congratulations @darnick! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!