You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Critique Poetry - A Simple Structure

in #poetry6 years ago

You couldn't have simplified poetry appreciation any better @geekorner. If only educators can make it half as fun as what you're currently teaching and turn this into a real-life application for true poetry appreciation, then we'll have more futuristic Shakespeareans in the making.

This amazing post was nominated to, and upvoted by @curie. Support what we do by voting Curie as a witness

Sort:  

I definitely couldn't have done so better, because if I could've, I would've. I do suspect others might be able to do it better than I though :D

As for other educators, I suspect pre-university level, they aren't really trying to do that - they are trying to pass onto you the One True Meaning™ of any piece of writing they teach you, which is unfortunate. Or ask very leading questions.

I do know the "close reading" we do of philosophical texts in university here are much closer to what I'm trying to impart on others.

And hey, if I could help even one person find their poetic voice? I'd be ecstatic!

Thank you for the kind words and support, and for the Curie support, Debbie! :)