Prism Through a Broken Soul (An Original Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

As I looked into her eyes, holding her gaze for a moment in time
My spirit melted with my soul in turn, captivated by this shear form of beauty in the shine
I tried to pretend as though unperturbed, unmoved, trying not to feel the sway
But every move I made did nothing else but give me and my bottled emotions away

When I looked again, now with such deliberate intent
I saw through her soul, a being that's been bleached by life's own lieutenant
Battered and bruised even though from without, all you see is a facade, totally unreal
I asked myself how this near-perfect, almost flawless angel managed to keep things well-concealed

Source

But the moment she opened her mouth, I confirmed life had given her so much grief
She needn't say more, cos her words came from a place of weariness, a depth of anger that's known no-brief
Trusting in love with another, and giving her all in the serve of others, a natural law
Seemed to have been enough to shape her soul, held captive by life's brutal and fearsome claws

Can she ever be whole again, can she ever genuinely shape a smile again?
Can she ever see life in full color without having to wallow underneath in such gruesome pain?
For me, the more I looked, the more I got disturbed thinking hard and asking, how can I play a role?
But after many failed tries, all I could say was, that's what happens when looking with a prism through a broken soul

If you have enjoyed this original poetry post, upvote, follow @delphia16 and resteem! If you didn't, upvote anyway!

Happy Steeming!!!

Sort:  

Great post.

Thanks @missrdx, grateful

Wow powerful can’t completely describe this poem! It kinda hit me deep because I am currently talking to a girl who is experiencing a lot of pain.

I really like the last line about looking with a prism through a broken soul! I always tried to understand the girls in my past as well as the girls now! For some reason I always find the ones who are damaged, but I still always try to help

Thank you so much @waphilip for your support, I truly appreciate it. I believe the best and the right one for you will seek you out. Don't worry too much about it. Thanks once again.

Wow, this is genius. I love every part of it. I wish it never came to an end. Need to follow you

Thanks @apiprincz for your comment, I appreciate it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Del from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice post

Thanks @calysta for the comment.

Wow this is such a heart felt poem I love this made me choke Thankyou so much for this , Followed upvoted xx stay in touch

Thank you @deeviras for the comment and follow, I truly appreciate it.

your most welcome @delphia16 xxx