Acquainted With The Night

in #poetry6 years ago

hqdefault.jpg

I have been one familiar with the night time.
I have walked out in rain--and again in rain.
I've outwalked the furthest metropolis gentle.

I have seemed down the saddest city lane.
I've passed by way of the watchman on his beat
And dropped my eyes, unwilling to give an explanation for.

I have stood nonetheless and stopped the sound of ft
When a long way away an interrupted cry
came visiting residences from an extra avenue,

but to not call me back or say goodbye;
And further nonetheless at an unearthly top,
One luminary clock towards the sky

Proclaimed the time was once neither improper nor proper.
I've been one acquainted with the night time.

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!