Paying my Dues

in #poetry6 years ago

landscape-1802337_640.jpg

We spend more time in the shadows
Simply lost to the direction of light
It should be a time to do battle
With those attempting to blur my sight

The key is to always show up
Not about bringing my A-game
Force a smile on days I want to sulk
Positioning for future fame

Saying no to things I desire
Knowing fully well what holds
Rewards to come which I aspire
Claiming it all if I may be so bold

Paying my future with the present
Like A dice thrown for numbers
Staring the uncertainty with patience
Till it is time to awaken from slumber

Sort:  

Neat. There's better up ahead. Don't stop when you're tired, don't eat into the future today..

Paying my future with the present

That's always a tricky one. But if the present is where you want to be now, that should pave the future you want then....
I don't know if that makes sense... but one thing I learnt from my late Mum is she put too many things on hold thinking she would have time later and she didn't ... so if I can enjoy the now, then it's already worth the while...

Nice one, I am recommending your poetry for a curation post :)

I agree. The present should never be ignored. It should be lived whole heartedly, but with an eye for the future

Keep dreaming and do the things you desire to. Many great people risked it all to live the life they wanted.

Posted using Partiko Android

Perseverance, conviction and passion.
Beautifully stated.

Thanks dear

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Beautiful poem @empress-emmy 😊 i like the rhymes and yes, we should paying for the future... beyond life where no numbers needed anymore. Enjoy your present😉