Change Me (An Original Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Overly concerned
with all the things
that stand between us
instead of commonalities
that could draw us close.

Then the wheels
touch down and
our hearts open
and dreams unfold.

It’s our right to
refuse a life
of frenzied compression,
to run away from
the blasé, overpriced tour
of Yelp’s top f*cking ten.

I want my boots
on the ground,
to wander a quiet street
until I can hear
its ghosts laugh and cry.

I want to feel
the souls of its people,
and savor the
love in its food.

So let the sun weave
its thin strands of light
through the branches
of those old elms
on your boulevards
until I feel dizzy and lost.

What I thought I knew
will be gnarled
and it will be dappled but
I promise I will be a better me
than when the wheels touched down
and you will be a better you,
bon voyage.

Eric Vance Walton

(Giphy Sourced From Giphy.com.)

About This Poem: It’s no secret how much I love travel and how valuable I feel it is. Travel, in purest sense, doesn’t just make you a more educated, more well-rounded person but it also makes for a healthier and more peaceful planet. I hope you enjoyed this!


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.
My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Beautiful poem. This is giving us good feeling .
Thanks

Beautiful wording poem . All stanzas are good . Specially end of poem is good .

I really did! I also love to travel and believe that we are richer in so many ways for it. Your words resonate truth and I thank you for that and I am glad that you popped up in my feed.

Perfect gif to travel along the words.

Taking it home with me.

So glad you enjoyed it @dswigle! It feels great to have the blockchain (almost) working again after the HF20 hiccups!

Poem thats full of messages

Wonderful poem @ericvancewalton, I really did enjoy it very much!
Experiencing new places and new faces is one of the most enriching things to do, adds spice to life. You've expressed that so beautifully!

Thank you @lizelle! I appreciate you taking the time to stop by! I hope to be taking a lot more trips in the next few years. Maybe we'll make it out your way!

overpriced tour
of Yelp’s top f*cking ten.

Yeah but Tripadvisor is OK right? 😁🤣😂

Seriously though, you're right and I've always thought that the world becomes more peaceful the more we travel and experience each other's cultures.

Cg

TripAdvisor is horrendous @cryptogee. Did you hear someone set out to game their review system on and make a ficticious restaurant the highest rated restaurant in London? Here's the story - https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/434gqw/i-made-my-shed-the-top-rated-restaurant-on-tripadvisor I'm highly suspect of any "public" reviews. A friend and I recently had a bad experience with a highly rated Airbnb host in Montreal. It teetered on the brink of being a nightmare and most of the reviews from their actual patrons paint a similar story (it's easy to find them amongst the fake reviews). I'll be writing about that soon. : )

This poem evokes a lot of thought. I would love to hear your interpretation, especially of the last stanza.

This one, for me, is a kind of prelude. The last stanza is about how travel changes us for the better.

Makes sense thanks..

You're welcome!

Now this verse stands out to me.

I want to feel
the souls of its people,
and savor the
love in its food.

Makes me hungry. :)

i also love to travel it makes you fall in love with new places

Imagination is a main thing for a good poet .
And you have great imagination . Nice poem .

This is what travelling does; opens your eyes, make you fall in love with new places and the lessons are unending with different learning and cultures. This is beautiful sir.

Thank you!

Anytime sir. Glad to be back after the temporary lockdown hahaha.

wow I can totally feel the soul's yearning to touch the sky, reach the world and travel so many amazing places as well my friends.
What a splendid GIF to go with it as well, love this one totally, it's a splendid read really

I'm happy you enjoyed it @josediccus. I think it's time for me to board a plane again. : )

Wow. I loved this poem.
Very beautiful.

Have a great day @ericvancewalton

Thank you very much @joalvarez!