Fugitive (Original Poetry)

in #poetry4 years ago (edited)

Shiftless moods
breed certain fools
who lose their way
when darkness falls,

wandering souls
who’ve lost their way
and fall from grace
when duty calls.

Away they run
to foreign lands
that call them
so invitingly,
to begin the
cycle once again
until a problem arises,
then they’ll flee,

until their woes
weigh them down
and begin to slow
their tired feet,
their heads buried
in their hands
and tired eyes
filled with deceit.

All of their lives
they’ve been a fugitive
running from an awful ghost,
this apparition that dwells
inside them, they are
almost sure to boast,

is the source
of all their problems,
all their ills and woes,
but they’re not caused
by this apparition
but by a far greater foe.

This beast that dwells
inside them and their soul,
he’s surely bought,
this fierce and ugly beast
is none other
than negative thoughts.

Eric Vance Walton

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

Sort:  

Very interesting Eric. People don't really get that negative thoughts have a impact on their physical well being and there have been studies in the past that prove that. The seeds we plant in our minds definitely grow and the mind knows no difference between a good seed and a bad one.

I found it extra interesting what other folks had to say in the comments, for the most part each equated the poem as a reflection to something that was relevant in their lives. You truly are gifted that you can reach so many people with the same words but have so many different takes on those words.

I had my own take as well. With all the events that are going on around the country my mind immediately went to how the people who are carrying on these horrendous things can even sleep at night.

Yes, ironically, we're doing much more harm to ourselves by being angry and negative than we are to what we're being angry and negative about. From a metaphysical perspective, it's doubly detrimental (if you subscribe to that belief). Like attracts like, so we also are attracting more bad things to us by walking around with a negative mindset.

Thank you very much! I just feel so lucky to have readers to engage with. I'm very grateful for that.

I hope you're having a great week so far! It's probably hotter than Hades in TX right now.

Could not agree more with what you have said here. The week is in the home stretch and the weather is perfect so things are well. We actually had a "cold front" move in last night, so we should only get to 91* today but it knocked the humidity way down and that is really helpful.
Stay safe and have a good weekend.

Our cold front was a lot different! It's getting down into the mid-forties at night in the next few days. We nearly touched 100 degrees a couple of days ago. Mother Nature is a little bipolar up here. Thanks and I hope you enjoy your weekend, Sult!

This poem makes me think of all the kids that jump around school districts because they think the rules will be less strict in one place or another. Then they eventually come back when they realize that isn't the case. Probably not your intent, but that is what it brought to mind for me!

Interesting! That scenario definitely applies. There are plenty of adults too who change jobs, homes, partners, etc. chasing happiness. I've been listening to a Buddhist podcast that has been a huge help for me to identify more of this kind of thing in myself (https://dharmapunxnyc.podbean.com/). Almost every episode resonates with me.

That makes sense. I agree that I know a lot of adults that seem to be stuck in that same cycle.

Hello dear friend @ericvancewalton Good evening

It is true that there are people like that, with black souls and totally negative thoughts, I just wish never to cross paths with them.
Excellent composition, goes very well with the situation in which the world lives
I wish you a beautiful Sunday

Thanks! I've come across a few people like that in my life. They usually try their best to drag you down to their level and blame everything and everyone around them for their misery. I hope you have enjoyed the weekend!

Thats actually impressive. :)

What good is running away, if the problem is inside us? There are thoughts that are sown and sometimes watered with fear, unlove, sadness, resentment, and they can grow inside us almost without us realizing it. Some ghosts are not under the bed, but in the mirror when we see ourselves in them. Excellent poem and disturbing Gif. A hug, @ericvancewalton

Yes, so many people spend their entire lives running. Thank you, Nancy. The Gif is disturbing! I can't look at it too long. Lol.

Very great poem....i wonder how you get inspiration . I need this kind of inspiration

I appreciate it! Ideas usually come to me when I'm out walking the dog or riding my bike, actually.

That's cool... what kind of dog do you own?

Did you create that gif? That is super cool!

No, I found it on Giphy.com. It's pretty haunting. I thought it portrayed how negativity affects us pretty well.

Wow. Lovely poem
Really inspiring

Beautiful lyrics

Thank you @pardeepkumar! I haven't heard from you for a while. I hope all is well!

The poem conveys the mood of the author when it was written. It is sad but beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you, Eric, for haunting words & images... Go(o)d & (d)evil is within 🙏🏼

You're welcome! Thanks for your comment!

Brave new day, poet 🙏

wow, nice one :)

Thanks and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Great poem!

Much appreciated!

luv it

Thank you, man! I hope you have a good weekend.