Greed

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

bitmoji-20180328081741.png
Today I feel free from a hurt,
Although it is sad, the words are curt,
There was a man sweet as can be,
And this man truly did love me,
But this man so timid and so afraid,
To lose his sister, on him heavy weighed,
His money he worked so hard to get,
He had decided way before we met,
To give everything that he had,
To his sister and now she was glad,
But when I came along she knew,
The money will be divided in two,
And that was not enough for her,
So she threw a fit to her brother,
And he and sadness let me know,
And all our loved he did for go,
He loved me is what he said,
But his sister wants it all when he is dead,
And he can never marry someone so poor,
I would have to have so much more,
So I thought how sad to be rich and greed,
For you will never know true love indeed.
Written by Denise Toro