Before the World Wakes Up

in #poetry7 years ago

lake-1611044_1920_2.jpg

Maybe one day I’ll write a poem that is mine.
Not just something that, when reviewed,
Is just a web, weaving itself around me.
A conflicting web of makeshift and distant feelings,
High intentions and remote ideas.

Something mine, with my feelings, and my thoughts.

Without thinking,
Without pretending,
Without wanting.

Just pristine feelings in this exact moment.
Maybe then they can see me as I was.
And maybe then they can tell me who I am not.

But how can we be?
Are we not just shadows and reflections
Of something we can’t reach?
Afterthoughts with no reality —
Reflections of unreality.

Rest, my heart, and sleep.
Silence is without reason or cause,
It just needs the immense quiet night.
Before the world wakes up,
And all is transposed again.

landscape-2090495_1920-crop.jpg


Images from pixabay

follow.jpg

Sort:  

Let me go ahead and !originalworks this for you :)

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @unprovoked. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fxenakis to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

We seek that authenticity, and I enjoyed this poem.

Without thinking,
Without pretending,
Without wanting.