Contemplations of an Empath

in #poetry6 years ago

Why is it that your angry?
Is it something I'm saying, or something that I'm doing?
Or does it not even have anything to do with me and I'm just a victim your abusing?
You see I'm confused at this anger that your choosing,
is it a product of me, in your eyes, not living up to my potential?

While you keep trying to remind me this life is not a rental,
part of me wonders if you feel I've been choosing the things I'm not meant to?
Consistently giving out my light to others i think might be special,
rather than focusing it on my own rights and my own fights,
to keep me in the middle.
Until my lights spread out too far,
I forget how to see in the night and start listening to the frightening riddles,
sometimes they end up telling me to take my own life just for shits and giggles,
and sometimes they whisper secrets of the universe and remind me to just be and keep things simple,
remind me that love is something that one should always rekindle.

So I know it may not look it but to me the answer is simpler than it seems,
everywhere I give my light it's going where it needs,
and hopefully helping all of those tearing at the seams,
if everything helps everything grow,
then everything has what it needs,
and then hopefully when in need,
those giving out their light,
can be supported by the light of those who've received.

I know I'm getting off track of what i was originally trying to achieve,
but everything connects to everything,
that's all I'm trying to help every being see,
and whatever it was that caused this anger,
all i can say is between you and me,
I'm sorry for whatever it is that made you feel this way,
frankly whatever it is, I hope it's not to stay,
I hope you find a resolution to your pain,
fight your way through your shame,
pick yourself back up and earn your name,
return your ego to your brain,
remind yourself we're all insane,
lying to ourselves trying to figure out who to blame,
whatever it is,
just remember you own the game,
doesn't matter what the frightening riddles say.
So just know, as always, if you ever need a friend I'm never too far away.

-Grandstar - circa 2017

Sort:  

Very cool sir, I read it out loud and it felt like a song, that's the sign of good poetry

Thank you sir! A lot of my writings often tend to be written in a form that flows well for lyrics, I fell in love with the ability to express that hiphop and rap has brought so ive often wrote in a means to that medium although performing that medium is another manner for myself, few walls I gotta break through before I get there (;