Abundant Joy - an original poem

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

I spent one New Year's early morning watching the moon rise across a bright, star-filled sky. The ocean waves reflected a color I had never seen before. Our lives were filled with such anxiety, yet the answer to our happiness was laid bare before us. 

Abundant Joy


There is abundant joy

in all that you see

if you open your eyes

and let the mind breathe


the leaves that fall

and return in green

the moon's silvery reflection

upon the golden sea


the colors of evening

as the sun yearns to set

reveals all the joy

that has not risen yet


the friend you console

at day's long end

the love that you share

the love that mends


for all abundant joy

knows no less reward

when eyes wide open

in viewing the world.


-----------------

All images from pexels.com under  CC0 License.

I hope that you enjoyed this poem! Many more poems will be on the way... follow me for future poems and fiction -- 

@inkbit

Poets who have inspired me include Robert Frost, Emily Dickinson, Tupac Shakur and Ashanti. I appreciate any comments... thanks!


Sort:  

Well done! I love poems that floww xD Followed.

Thank you! I love flowing flowetry too! :)

loved the combination of the photos and your lines, they played a perfect pause :)

It was fun choosing the images and to have them reflect the words.

I love it :)