[Poem] Death of a friend. A true story.

in #poetry8 years ago

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Five past nine in the morning on a Saturday,
Jostling my way through traffic to my University,
Late again! Wondering what excuse would I make
Couldn't be casual for my reputation was at stake

Waiting for the lift, I see my friends on the other side
I smile at them but I wonder what are they doing outside
I walk up to them to greet and ask them what was up?
What they told me next, had stitched up my mouth shut.

"Immanuel is no more", they said with a sad face and low voice
"What?!"
"Are you serious?!", I asked.
Shook my head in denial, "I can't believe it. No, boys!"

I could feel the chills reaching down to my bones
Suddenly, I was too heavy for my own bones
Leaned against the wall, I asked them the cause
"He met with an accident, he was fatally injured
It happened in the morning, at 3 or 4
He had gone for a night out with other 3 or 4
Others are safe, one is mildly injured
but he couldn't make it at all, he is in the hospital."

The lift doors slid open and we walked inside
My eyes filled with tears in shock of this bad surprise
I wiped the tears off but I was still sad in sorrow
The last evening I saw him, I had told him "See you tomorrow".

9 floors up, the doors slide open, I walk towards my class
I see my friends and professors gathered in the sad mass
I walk in, I say no words and sit there, thinking of the past
I realize life moves slow until it flips around this fast

Prayers were recited and condolences were expressed
I hope, in a better place, he is blessed and peacefully rests
But who am I kidding? What better place? Heaven?
Yeah, that's what the priest in the class said
I knew that he was gone and I couldn't lie myself
I don't know what happens after and beyond,
I just know, my friend is gone
but I don't know whereon
Even if I don't buy it, I hope heaven exits
and my friend rests in peace
People were still praising God
Saying it was God's will
I just lost a friend and if God was the reason
How could I praise him for the kill?

I just couldn't understand how it was suddenly all about God
My friend passed away, don't they care about him at all?
But what could anyone do anyway,
What different could I do but hope? What do I know?
I am just letting my emotions flow in the timelessness of sorrow

Everyone gets up from their seat with sad faces and weak feet
A few of us head to the hospital, in the midst of the noon heat
150 miles drive, in the van, collecting memories in abstract sheets
Memories of fun times, memories of tests and classes in university
He used to teach me interesting concepts about food chemistry
Almost 3 in the noon and I still hadn't even had my first meal.

We finally reach there, not sure if I could see what I was about to see
As we walked towards the gathering, I could see his mother crying hysterically
I couldn't understand what she was saying as she lamented in grief in a foreign language
But I was aware of the damage and sadness has no language
I finally mustered up some courage and I took steps to see
This was the first time ever I was going to see a dead body
And it had to be my friend, covered in white sheets with cottons in nostrils
I was sad and clueless, this was very unreal, death doesn't look the same in the TV screens

I still remember holding his mother's hand as she cried while they put him in the ambulance
That moment is very different when you realize how real are accidents
Sadness of losing a loved ones is nothing like expressed in a condolence
It cannot be healed right away, only time can heal the sadness, time eases.
But how do you expect that wound to heal when the world and time freezes?

We returned with sadness, our van and cars behind the ambulance
Life is pretty different now, I saw it through a sad but real lense
A different side of life which is as real as closely you see and sense
Nothing like how the movies, televisions or news put forth the substance

I have good memories of my friend and he lives on in my memories
A good human being. I hope he is remembered for centuries.

Death is real.
You always knew that
But it's saddeningly different when you actually see that.

Not for reproduction
#isteemit

P.S This photograph is taken by me.
#poetry #steemit

Sort:  

Raw and powerful!

I quite agree with you!

I find it hard to contemplate death. It's just so incredibly sad. We are here for a heartbeat.

AMEN

Thank you for your poetry. Keep writing! It helps. I understand.
Check out my poetry blog.

Thought provoking and emotional writing; thank you for sharing!

" For every person you know, there is some last moment at which you will ever see them.
For most of them, you won't even know it's happening."

Nicely written. The powerful emotions of a true friend. RIP.

Friends always live in the hearts of each other , even after one dies, in the heart of the second , he will remain forever !

Amen.

whit the soul

I'm really sorry for your loss bro, Death is permanent, we all have to go one day, and this fact is damn scary because no one knows death but the deads themselves. And, we fear the unknown, well, most of us, I guess.

I can only imagine how you've felt through this poem.

a moving ode to a friend - I'm sorry for your loss

Very true, sad and moving. xx

Wow. And you really write it by yourself? Great work!

Yes, I do :)

Absolutely incredible. I read it as if in Slam poetry style, which I'm sure was not the intended but I just love the amount of emotion you put into and that's how my braid saw it.

I lost a very dear friend of mine to suicide years ago, it was one of the hardest things to deal with, especially when everyone is turning it into something about God. Stay strong, celebrate his life, try not to mourn.

That's sad. I hope time heals.

It does. And remembering the good times helps.

thanks for sharing this

I´m really sorry for your loss.
R.I.P

Your Poem is very powerful and I´m thankful that you were ready to share it with us.
I´m happy that the Steemit- Community has some sort of therapeutic effect, It shows the Quality of this Network.

"Don´t Cry about his death. Celebrate that he had Lived"

powerfull!

Very powerful and deep! I am sorry for your loss.

incredibly touching

yes

sorry for your lose!!! the photograph is Venezuela? Margarita Island?

amazing pray for him may his soul remain in rest in heaven.

Did a piece ending with two "that"s for its final rhyme just get $2,700?

I'm glad that you read it until very the end.
May be you can tag a price to it and tell me what it's worth.

I can't edit short stories, but I know someone who is pretty good. If you go to http://conjunction.webs.com/apps/forums/ and seek out Daniel (pm or directly on the public pages), I'm sure you could get a quote--bear in mind the Daniel isn't nearly as pleasant as me and will ridicule mistakes or short-comings mercilessly (though he's oddly nice some days) -- now from me you'd get a similar analysis as "In the Rain" got and I'd try to provide the necessary materials to get the material to a more original place. There are no guarantees you'd survive the process--so think about your commitment to time and adjust your sights accordingly.

Most publishing houses won't tell you why--you are left to figure it out for yourself, so if you have literary ambitions, then you'll at least have to guess correctly. Check out hemingway and those crisp sentence structures for a primer that will give you some insight as to what can be done when Williams simplicity is applied to the narrative of pop-folk Americana.