Abandoned

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



fa57a09c1b459bd31602aab4fce130fd.jpg



If you should ever leave
Autumn storms would erode
And fissure me with tear trails


I'd be a watercolour in the rain.

Every memory would run and mar
And tears would wash away
The image of you.

I’d gaze at red maples
The colour of your hair;

The rain’s steady tread at night
Would remind me of your breath
And I’d run to you

But you wouldn’t be there.

Don’t leave me, even for a minute,
I’d be devastated
Dwelling in this desolate house
With creaking floors
And the furnace turning on and off

When I close my eyes
Yours open, staring into my soul…

Eyes so dark, so fathomless
I fall in and can’t get out

Don’t leave me reliving pain I've felt—
The autumn rains are useless
And cause me enough grief
I don’t want to lose you
In these dark days
Without hope

Don’t leave me abandoned to myself.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Masterful! The muse of love/abandonment is potent and you do her much justice. Bravo.

jhon, i love the lines of your poem.."Don’t leave me abandoned to myself."

this will reflect the reality of life..on every person here with personal experience on this kind of situations .. thanks for sharing jhon..

Thanks, blu

So lovely poetry wonderful words and inspiration to begin the year with
💕💕💕Upvoted and resteemed

thank you, @solowire

You are highly welcome dear

Really good use of imagery. Following.

good job.
lovely poem 👌👌
#Happy-new-year
@johnjgeddes

Hello @johnjgeddes
Is wonderful writing and poet. I adore lovely word and nice word.
Keep sharing

thank you

Thanks sir @johnjgeddes
Its my pleasure and stay blessed

What a beautiful wonderful poetry my friend i adore it it touched my soul happy new year hope you all succuss in your life dear

This is a great great poet writing ...I appreciate to your post...Carry on my friend...

thanks

Most welcome my friend ..I will wait for your new blog..✌✌🎄🎄

this is awesome, i love it

I love this poetry and beautiful painting .

Namste

Congratulations @johnjgeddes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

So beautiful lines ! Love this poem !!
Happy New Year 2018 !!

thank you, @akkha - I wish you peace and joy in the year ahead

You too my friend ! Thank you !!

I guess this is a message to your lover. It is amazing tho. Happy new year

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @johnjgeddes to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

really nice poem! after read your words which encourage me that I really need to improve my english as well as i can!