A Confession

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



sommi-257178.jpg



You write about love beautifully
She said, and smiled,
I envy your wife.


I grinned ruefully.

She had a picture
In her head
That I was Cyrano
Rhapsodizing Deb
Improvising
Beautiful images
Hallmark would admire

She thought we’d spend nights
Sipping champagne
By the fire
And I’d be reading
Her my poetry
And she’d fall
In love with me
Over and over again

And I guess
We’d get up
In the morning
On Valentines
And make snow angels
In the yard

It’s not a bad fantasy
But compared to our lives
It’s madness
And Deb would roll her eyes

She knows she’s my Muse
And she’s in every line
But I don’t serenade her
With sonnets
Or speak in couplet rhyme

But I do write her poems
Every day of our lives.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I started thinking this must be a true description of your live - and then you just gave me goosebumps with the last line - beautiful. As always I love your work. There is an afrikaans poem that comes down to I write a poem for you without fancy words and punctuations and so in - you make me think of that - just straight forward and beautiful - no fancy words or trying to write in such a way nobody can understand

thank you, @anneke for the encouraging reponse

@briancourteau! I know you'll love @johnjgeddes poetry😄

thank you, Lynn :)

You're welcome! I'm more than happy to pass on beautiful things....perhaps the world will be brighter because of it !

Thanks Lynn. this is beautiful. I love poetry

Hey you're welcome @briancourteau, but I'm just the messenger :)

absolutely beautiful; I was hooked with "I envy your wife."
I'm new on steemit and exploring all the tags; I'll be back!!

thanks, Lynne - Welcome!

You're welcome...my pleasure!

My friend Lynn told me to check the poem. I thik its beautiful. I write poetry and do absolutely love it. Very beautiful. Thank you and Thank you Lynn for tagging me

thanks, Brian - appreciate this

You sir are my discovery of the day. Awesome poem, I'll be following you.

nice poem, it sound real

What a beautiful love you share! Congrats!

This is a great poetry ..I appreciate to your blog...Carry on my friend ...Best of luck...

Good post friends ...

thanks

Yes friends, I also have some new posts if you do not mind visiting my block once ..

This is a great post... thanks for sharing this post...

thank you

Most welcome

This post has received a 8.35 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

@johnjgeddes What a beautiful poem, it's very charming

What a beautiful tribute to your muse! :D

There's the poetry of words, and the poetry in motion as we walk every day in love...

😄😇😄

@creatr

thanks, creatr - BTW, Happy New Year! You're on my list :)

Thank you, friend John...

Blessings of the New Year to you and Deb and all your loved ones as well. :D

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @johnjgeddes to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I'd have to side with Deb on this one! lol I can't handle too much romantic poetry, but with just a touch of realism you can touch the heart

thanks, Laura - I appreciate that truth