Blue-Faced Lover

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)





The sea above us


Changes with every mood—


Dark with anger

Pale with sadness


Although right now,

it’s blue;


So sleep safely, Love,

In watery moonlight,


I'm watching over you.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo

Sort:  

Fantastic.i like this poem and upvoted.

This post has received a 7.71 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

This post received a 5.68% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @johnjgeddes! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

I like the way you makes use of nature images.

Your works are really unique.

Will get back to you soon on the poetry I want to analyze.

thanks mimy :)

Hm. This is very sweet. Great post, i must say.

Congratulations @johnjgeddes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Fantastic.i like this poem and upvoted.

Blue, the colour of melancholy, but with an almost primitive sense of being protective added to it. I like it.

yes, very true, arthur

Aww. This is sweet. Great painting to accompany it too. I think it refers to how external situations can sometimes be unpleasant, but the lover won't let that stop him from protecting his beloved. :) It's interesting how "blue" here basically means happy or pleasant, when otherwise it would refer to sadness. Nice! :D

this a very insightful response, and you're right. Thank you :)

this was a haunting melody, Bucky - my wife felt it brought to mind Scottish castles and mist, and I wasn't far off imagining myself in a drizzly kirk keeping a night watch. A beautiful piece of artistry

Thank you John and thank your wife for me :) I always appreciate your wonderful support and inspiration.

Don't think I ever imagined sky as sea before... Nice!

I have thought of space as a vast, vast sea.......

😄😇😄

@creatr

well, I see clouds as a celestial beach and the rifts between them as lakes and oceans....sometimes the clouds transmute into breakers or in the case of mackerel clouds they resemble the markings on the side of a fish...but always the sea above me :)

You've given me some new eyes to lift to the skies... :D

I'm glad, my friend :)