From The North

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



tumblr_mi4hz1oMWS1s5qfmbo1_540.jpg



I’ve seen northern lights
Dancing at night


Waterfalls spilling down
A sheer rock face;

Big sky country limitless
To the horizon

And winters so bleak
Your heart breaks from sighing.


Unless you’ve seen these
You don’t understand me

A land of extremes
Breeds desperate dreams.

Everything is spaces,
Distance and isolation

The forests primal
An icon of survival.


Even in cities
With canyons of glass

Drive a few miles
And see the contrast;

The wilderness is close
Not far from our doors,

Deer leap through woods;
A loon calls from the shore.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Como bien dices :"si no lo he visto, no podría entender", pero con tus palabras logras pintarme ese paisaje que desconozco. A través de las palabras puedo imaginarme esa aridez, la distancia y la soledad. Hay un poema en mi país que dice."trázalo con tus letras que yo sabré pintarlo con el corazón". Usted es un artista, @johnjddes, y escribe hermosamente lo que está a su alrededor. Abrazos

Un dicho tan hermoso, Nancy - "trázalo con tus letras que tú sabrás pintarlo con el corazón" Me alegra que mis palabras puedan tocarte

OH Canada. Breeds us strong and friendly. Love this, John:)

It really does - Thanks, Pryde :)

Dear friend, I live in a tropical country and the closest I've been to the Northern Lights is Spain, so I've never had the happiness of seeing such a worthy spectacle of nature. I loved your poetry John.

Thanks, Felix :)

Me having a thirst for travel, I usually get my inspiration of 'where to go next' from photos. However, your poetry has just inspired me to the Northern Lights. The thing about traveling anywhere, is that pictures never truly do it justice until you are there experiencing it. "Unless you see me, you don't understand me." The reason why I must see things from myself and travel around the globe! Keep writing my friend!

WARNING! The comment below by @jesus.tovar leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

You got a 3.09% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Congratulations, your post received 3.89% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

WARNING - The message you received from @jesus.tovar is a CONFIRMED SCAM!
DO NOT FOLLOW any instruction and DO NOT CLICK on any link in the comment!

For more information, read this post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@arcange/anti-phishing-war-the-crooks-continue-their-bashing-campaign

If you find my work to protect you and the community valuable, please consider to upvote this warning or to vote for my witness.

Your Words make me see the places, really well done!

@steem881 you're on the @abusereports naughty list!
If you do not stop, your account will be rendered invisible on Steemit. Bad Steemian! Bad!