Gypsy Moon

in #poetry6 years ago



898cc0f738ff5d65d1093f7d923305e0.jpg



Blue shadows of evening
Fill the gap
Between the trees


Soften the street
And perhaps, even me.

The yellow window squares
Are tiny pictures
Of other lives

And I wonder
If the people inside

Ever look out
At the street

And also wonder
About people like me.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Very nice Sir! I like poetry, but find theres always so much over blown flowery and squiggly imagery at work in many; while I do enjoy those even still I'm always overjoyed at pieces such as this one!

thank you! I see your tastes run into simple, basic - Can't say as I always write that way, but I have been lately :)

Love it! Beautiful imagery...I've often had the same 'wonderings'...

thanks, Lynn

Love the visual I get from the idea of yellow windows being tiny pictures of other lives. Kinda reminds me of that movie "Rear Window"

Yes, loved that Hitchcock film :)

I thought it was Hitchcock but didn't want to say just in case I was wrong! ( :

You're very good @johnjgeddes! I love all your poems. ♥

thanks, Leah

so the blue shadows are projected by the windows to between the trees. is that suppose imply a mood?

The blue shadows are cast by the Moon that is implied in the title but is not directly mentioned in the poem - they suggest loneliness and sadness - the gold windows suggest life and happiness.

This is really good!

This poetry writing very nice..i love poetry..thanks for sharing this post..

"Soften the street
And perhaps, even me."

This post has received a 1.89 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Love your writing. I'd like to think they do. Drawn here by the painting, glad I stumbled on your words :)

thanks, Christie :)