In the Dark

in #poetry4 years ago



52daa066b369c.jpg



Rain darkens everything:


Each drop
A black grain of misery

Holding
All the world’s pain
And none of its sympathy;

...

And it’s pouring again
Beating a rhapsody

A tin pan cacophony

Down narrow alleyways
And lanes that never end

Except at waves

Where they blur into a haze
Of sky and lake

And disappear in a turbid wake.

...

Of windless drizzle
And matters dark and dismal
I write

Of improbable men
Burdened with sins

Of mundane crimes
Too trite to recite

All close in tonight

Remind me
What I’ve been
And how little it means

This love
I can’t requite.

...

Sadly, for me,
Hope has dwindled
To a sad train whistle

Borne on the rain
From far away;

...

So, here's to us—

For all the times
I tried to make amends
But failed

And all the ways
I went astray

I’m here
In a dirge of fog and rain
Abandoned
In a world black and gray,

Alone again,
Numb and flustered,

Still trying to find a way
Through the pain I've suffered.



© 2019, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Both beautiful and sad.

as is life :) Thank you, @wandrnrose7

I feel so lonely suddenly 🙁

sorry about that :) That's how I feel when I read Dover Beach by Matthew Arnold

Your words make me want to try to write again.
Thank you

I'm glad - I know that feeling - it happens to me with TS Eliot's poetry - I can enjoy it briefly but then I have to write myself while I'm in that peaceful place

Beautiful words

Good post friends

Good poetry..

Congratulations @johnjgeddes! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Esta publicación ha sido seleccionada para el reporte de Curación Diaria.

final de post.png¡¡¡Felicidades!!!