Just a Man

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



just a man.png



I am yours
But want to be
More than the man
You see of me


Stronger
And silent
Capable
Spontaneous

Everything
I’m not
But want to be

More than the man
You see of me.


You paint,
Wallpaper,
And fix the toaster…

You’re so rational
And I so emotional
You act,
I feel—

A drop of reason
In an ocean
Of emotion

And O, so vulnerable,
Unable to control
The little I am
And the little
I own


Still, somehow
You stay by me,
Probably dreaming
Of what I might be

More than the man
You see of me

Though some day
I might be.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Sort:  

Aww, I so love your poems @johnjgeddes! ♥ You're the sweetest! :)☺♥

Thank you, Leah :)

Wao, seeing the picture, i thought it is more of a father and son things, but while i read through, it seems to be about how in a relationship, though realising a partner's inadequacies but you still held on hoping change would happen, this peom of course got me drowning in the ocean of emotions, great bro! Nice work of art

@johnjgeddes from a wannabe poet to a great poet you This poem touch my soul

thanks, Ayn

I love the poem man its great, I wonder when the perfect man will come along

thank you. A Perfect Man ...wasn't that a Hillary Duff film? a fantasy :)

@monjan I think there is no such perfect man but it's good to imagine him on a poem

Because your words from the heart are reaching the heart easily
thank you @johnjgeddes

Thank you for
Sharing a wonderful poem
Keep it up👌👌
@johnjgeddes

Wonderful poem.Thanks for sharing it..

Good writing.I truly appreciate​ your work.
Upvoted and resteemed

This post has received a 4.23 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

This post has received a 1.88 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @johnjgeddes to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

johnjgeddes!! Thank you, your Post.

This is so sweet and dreamy and sad. It resonates with the real life teeter totter of relationships.