Maples

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



Nature___Seasons___Autumn_The_red_maple_leaf_on_the_ground_in_the_rain_100134_27.jpg



I went back one day
To try to find
A memory
I left behind


For the mind is false
And often lies
Erasing facts
Or overwrites

But places endure
The change of years
Though ghosts may cloud
Them with our fears

I went back to the pond
Where we began
And walked the same paths
As we did then

My addled brain
Was vainly wracked
Until the memories
Came flooding back

Images
Of you and me
Together
Under autumn trees

It wasn’t sunny
There were storms—
And somber times
I couldn’t mourn

But I saw the ghost
Of you again
In a fiery haze
Of Maple rain.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I love ontario and actually I love this Poem John. I posted about Canadas Oldest Maple known to be still alive. The colors in fall are so amazing, vibrant, Here is a pic of the oldest Maple.

thank you, Brian - I grew up with Maples so huge and old you couldn't wrap your arms around them - although I tried :)

You keep hitting it out of the park John. I hope you do not mind that I disregard your subject and turn your stuff into a very personal experience. That is how powerful I find your writes to be, thank you. Best.

Thanks, Doug. I'm glad my poems touch you - My poems begin in personal experience and by the time I complete each one, I try to make them universal so as to appeal to different readers. It's not just self-expression, but communication, and the way you are receiving them is correct :)

Wow, if I could triple upvote you I would. I really enjoyed this one. its echoes my thoughts and mirrors my being. Thanks as always for swing your light. @mylittleblurbs

I appreciate your heartfelt response, @mylittleblurbs - the images and symbols in poetry lend themselves to a personal interpretation. I'm glad my poems can touch you

Really nice work, sweet, romantic. I love the memories brought back by retraced steps.
Sometimes one has to retrace steps, for "the mind is false and often lies"...

exactly! You got it - Thanks, Kat

Ooo.. I saw a ghost of you again.. Poetry is nice excluded ghost i am not strong enough to se a ghost.. Surely ill caught a heart attack to see.. Images of you and me. Together... Its so emotional and nice

thank you, @biyanoor - glad you enjoyed it

I am upvote and re steem because amazing poetry

This is a great poem, and I love it the picture♥

thanks, Denisse

that was indeed a fine piece keep up with the talent you are a great poet

Lovely John - thank you for your post.

This post has received a 2.62 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

I love this,it hit home for me!

But I saw the ghost
Of you again
In a fiery haze
Of Maple rain.

I may take this was Autumn. So evocative by itself.

It is beautiful, John. Thank you for sharing.

'A memory left behind' Memories do seem to get left behind in certain places. I also liked about the 'storms and somber times I couldn't mourn. Love reading your work!