Marks and Scars

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

doll-611871_1920.jpg



The scars
I’ve given you
I can’t take back


If I could find them
I would
But there are no tracks

They penetrate
Past the marrow
To the soul

They’re not raised
White welts
Red or linear

But go deeper
Beyond the flesh
Of your interior

You’re a stitched-up
Rag doll
Broken and scarred

And I love you
Because
Of what you are

Like the marks
On your belly
Our children left

Your beauty
Leaves
Me desolate

All I give you
Is scarred…
Even this poem

And though the pain
is yours
The guilt is my own.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo

Sort:  

Oh John, this is lovely and painful and...kind of makes me sad for some reason.

Hey mere! Deb and I were talking about you the other day and wondering how you were. I know you got through the storm okay, but we miss you on here :)

Oh, that storm was a doozy. And we had a micro tornado that literally dropped over 20 trees at my doorstep. Can you believe it only tweaked our trailer? Buried the truck too but absolutely no other damage. Not even a window cracked!
We've actually found a house. Doing minor renovation before we actually move in. It will be nice to have creative space again. Work has kept me away from Steemit. Hopefully NaNoWriMo will get me back here. I've really missed all of you. Give Deb my best and tell her to get her rear end to that new VIVA forum. https://forum.vivaco.in

Oh, is that where you are now? I knew you were heavily into crypto, buts aside from investing/trading Vivacoin is that website in any way analogous to Steemit? (I'll let Deb know, BTW)

Naw, the only connection to Steemit is the fact that the majority of our members are Steemians. :) You know, ironically I'm in the rabbit hole that is crypto but I still have a lot more to learn about it. Still tripping over terminology and how things function. There's never a dull day! Time to write and see what comes out of my tired brain today. LOL

Beautifully written, @johnjgeddes! I always enjoy yur poems.

thank you, Ceci

A melody is your poem. Music and feelings. Congratulation! Vote and follow

Reading this gave me goosebumps! So beautifully written @johnjgeddes ! It makes me feel so many emotions at once, the pain, the sadness but also the love! I think this is my favorite poem of yours! I'm falling in love with your work :')

thank you so much! I appreciate intelligent feedback, and naturally, all writers covet readers :)

As a mom, I absolutely loved the poem!
Very well written. Cheers!

This is just so achingly beautiful!

First I thought it was about a man treating a woman badly and then it really touched home for me as a mom - great job as always

Nice poem. Upvoted. I've just written a new poem myself, please check it out on my blog, much appreciated :)

This post has received a 35.65 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Poem start with nice lines

Very beautiful indeed. This poem is touching and I just love the meaning behind it. Simply splendid ^^ Great job @johnjgeddes. :)

thank you, @littlerph :)

You're welcome! :)

I like your post

Congratulations @johnjgeddes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The depths and layers of love... what a heartfelt piece. :)

This poetry is very nice 👍😁