My Private Star

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



large.jpg



The skies are painted with unnumbered sparks.
They are all fire and every one doth shine,
But there's but one in all doth hold his place.

—Shakespeare



I have my own star
That sails over the house


It’s faint and timid
And hides in the clouds

Some prefer planets
Or stars of some fame

But I doubt my star
Possesses a name

I prefer it that way.


I also have a faint light
Not noticed at night

Shy and quiet
And very private

Sometimes a stone
Will fall from the sky

And light up the night
Like the Fourth of July

It’ll make a great splash
Or impact the ground

And set off a search
Until it is found.

But not my star
Alone in the sky,

Scarcely noticed
By passers by

All the stars
In the celestial cosmology

Are known by all
And are public property

But my little star
Alone and free

Is special
And only known by me.



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

All the stars
In the celestial cosmology
Are known by all
And are public property
But my little star
with me and free
Is special
And only known by me. ....... great word @johnjgeddes

It was once said of Bonhoeffer, that he was always “thinking about thinking”. I think of you the same way when reading these words. :)

that's very kind and humbling at the same time, lydon - Thank you :)

This is by far some of the better poetry I've read in a while.Especially how for me the star never represents anything wholly, but like Jorge Luis Borges' Aleph, which is more like a diamond, its prism illuminating the walls of peoples souls with a phantasmagoria of "stars". Good stuff! I also write poetry if you would like to check it out.

love Borges - a poetic response too - Very nice :)

Thanks. Borges is the man. Have you read Adolfo Bioy Casares? He was a friend of Borges and makes damn fine literature, including a great collection of stories collaborated with Borges about a prisoner who solves outside crimes from his jail cell. Just an unasked for rec. Thanks for the upvote!

you're welcome - Haven't read Casares - I will check him out

Do it. He's a gem.

I also have my own star

Its always there when i look at the sky

Even the skies full of dark clouds,

I still see it.. it shining..

Gimme power to my self for always think that everytime m at the dark side, i always have my own light to keep shining..

yes, you understood the heart of what I was saying :)

😊😊

I agree with most of the comments, your work is great and very reminiscent of the works of the old. I love it.

Reminds of Howl's Moving Castle by Studio Ghibli.
Makes me feel a bit melancholy, but also hopeful.

That's an interesting comparison - I'm glad you found it uplifting :)

Wow. Beautiful. And, to think, I thought that star my own. Blessings

Hi Lynne - I guess we all have one private star that belongs to us alone :)

Very nice piece. Love how the star can be applied to multiple things.

hallow friend how are you...and i liked in your poetry

This post has received a 3.44 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

good job
wonderful poem
like it 👌👌
@johnjgeddes

nice poetry.
This is very kind and humble.
lets connect
@qami

Wonderful poem. Thanks for sharing it..

I know poems are open to different interpretations, each time i read this, it just keep occuring to me how so different we could be and still we are special just the way we are, as much as i appreciate this poem, i enjoyed it, nice piece!

Incredible poem. I'd be curious to know what the star symbolizes, or at least what it symbolized to you as you wrote this poem. However, I feel like I'd be violating some sort of poets law by asking that, haha! Peace

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @johnjgeddes to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!