Not Forgotten

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



night-2966495_1920.jpg



In the hush of snow
And faint blue glow
Of the super moon,
The garden sleeps

But is not forgotten.


Beneath the burlap
Wound tightly
As a winding sheet
Shrubs sleep

Oblivious until spring.

I’m not sure
Where tiny animals keep
But they’re hiding too
Fast asleep

Safe from Arctic cold.

And I’m missing you
You’re sleeping too
And won’t wake in spring,
But like these

Are also not forgotten.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

John, you moved so seamlessly from what began as whimsical and light, moved to what for me evoked deep sadness and yet ended in hope. So few words for such a rich journey. I appreciate greatly what you've done here. My upvote carries little weight, but I hope it carries to you my gratitude. Peace ~@genxrev

thank you, Genxrev, for such an articulate and perceptive response. Every writer covets a literate reader

You are kind. But more so - you bring a craft to your work that I enjoy greatly. Pleased to make your acquaintance. - I've already followed you so I look forward to seeing more of your work. Peace

Do not forget it, and it's the first thing you have left when you go shopping at the supermarket !!! XD

beautiful poem my friend

nice post

This post has received a 1.95 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

Not forgotten, the silent spring sleeps. I guess you are ready for some warmer weather. :)

This post has received a 1.89 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Heartbreaking. The first part reminded me of little boy blue. It was one of my favorite parts of the poem is a child! I don't know why but I could just see a little boy snoozing underneath the edge of the haystack, with the weight if it warming his body in the sun! So, the turn surprised me. I like your love poems :) because they're so believable!!! But the sad poems are equally believable and always make me pause for a moment to wonder if you're really in mourning.