Of Trees and Men

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



Alhambra-Hills-Muir-Curved-Tree.jpg



The tragedy of life
Is a twisted sacrifice
Nature often makes of trees
That never touch the sky.


At night, their trunks
Form arches, and not columns,
That bend across the level line
Of earth that even distantly
Reveals their grotesque curve.

Yet growing on a hill
Has no ups or downs,
And branch against cloud
Is often seen…
But only by standing underneath.

The only way left for that tree
Is day by day to add an inch
And overstretching
Crash into the pond
To spite Fate.

I am that tree.
My own life’s roots are shallow—
Not anchored in the bedrock beneath,
Not holding firmly.

But while life is in the veins
And the veins above the ground
The sideways of my life
Might one night turn
To comet’s streak…

And falling I could leave the hill
Like Atlas holding up the sky.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Awe-inspiring writing @johngeddes I looked long at the image that fits perfectly with your poignant words and I see two ways of interpreting the bends and twists that have shaped the growth of this tree. Its bowed over appearance may well represent a constant struggle to survive against the prevailing winds of life or perhaps it has made the decision to consciously or subconsciously to turn away from the influences that would have caused it to fall long ago, never to rise to its full potential. Foundational roots go way deeper than what we perceive as our focus is generally above ground. Droughts, storms, cyclonic winds and even hereditary factors have threatened to change the course of direction for this strong, sturdy, unique tree and every one of its roots have dug deep to support its survival because they understand their very important role and know that every living thing has a purpose and a destiny. And there is much more yet, to achieve.

a very thoughtful and perceptive response. Thank you, Trudee

This is really deep, poetry like that of virgil or shakespeare during the classical era, only difference is the simplicity of the words.

lovely piece.

thank you - yes, a deliberate simplicity - perceptive, Chiama

I am that tree.
My own life’s roots are shallow—
Not anchored in the bedrock beneath,
Not holding firmly.

you are a wonderful philosopher aside from being a great poet my friend :)

thanks for your encouraging words

you are most welcome :)

Just as the tree does not reach the sky so do you not score 100% in what you seek. Yet as the tree finds fulfillment in being a tree so must you find fulfillment in being human. Since you're both alive and able to weather the storms of life then keep being alive, for therein can you grow in the direction of your purpose.

Good poetry. Keep it up.

I'M resteeming this poem. Love it

Thank you, kiki

"I am that tree.
My own life’s roots are shallow—
Not anchored in the bedrock beneath,
Not holding firmly."
Bitterly true.......thanks @johnjgeddes

Wonderful tree ..I live tree ..Every i plant tree because tree is the best friend of the society ..Tree provide oxygen ,wood,fruit etc .

That was great! Has no ups or down. Love it!!

Wow! Such a nice poem to illustrate our being human, and being imperfect. The only way to go achieve our dreams would be accepting it. Resteeming @johnjgeddes. Thanks

Guys,Is that a poem?

wow beautiful, I hope to read more, congratulations

woe !! your post is very good ...
I am thrilled to read Nya.terimakasih for his information and have told me ..te
nta to life

upvote blog.

You try it bro

You are amazing dear , I love that's a man and a tree . Love it .Thanks for sharing .

Namaste

wow that was such an awesome poem keep up with the talent

Nice post what place?

This post has received a 3.47 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

good post, I will be looking at your profile, I will follow you and give you some votes, I would appreciate it if you also help me friend!

how deep that poem

This post has received a 1.20 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

John. I have decided to study your stuff more if I may, I want to be a better writer of poems and writing in general. Thank you again, Please read a few of ,ime if you have the chance.

I will, Brian, Thanks

Nice composition and beautiful words

I am totally loving all these nature posts on steemit. Thanks for sharing @johnjgeddes