Reflection

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



pexels-photo-54377.jpeg



Today I saw my face
Reflected in a mirror—


Peaceful
No longer striving,
No signs of strain…

The kind of face
A boy would choose
For when he became a man

I thought of the portrait
Of my uncle
Dead before I knew him

And somehow
I grew up
To become him

My mother told me
Before he died
He held me and wept

I often wondered
What secrets he kept

Did he see
I’d be
Just like him?

This man in the portrait
Staring into
A dark future…

What did he see
That made him weep?

Did he see
The little I’d become

A failed man,
A disappointment?

Or did he think
I was the hope
Of life to be

Small child
In his arms…

Not yet talking
But encumbered with mystery?



© 2017, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

That's heartbreaking. I don't believe for one second he's disappointed in you. You still are encumbered with mystery. (Col. 1:27)

thanks - I hope so

"He held me and wept"

I strongly identify with that man. I am that man.

That man is Simeon, holding the Christ Child, weeping with thanksgiving to God for the incredible gift of the child in his arms. A child, so long promised, now at last seen, now finally here.

Beautiful work, John. Thank you.

😄😇😄

@creatr

I didn't think of that Biblical allusion, perhaps, because of the autobiographical dimension

Great work John, I sometimes have the same feeling on whether little kids have these thoughts, where they ponder about what lays ahead and who they would like to be. I wonder...

I think it depends on the sensitivity of the child

very true indeed, I wonder if I was that child.

I tried to see, if this was ironic, but it wasn't it later became emotional, then beautiful, i think this one is a simple languages poem almost a free verse. Good work John

thank you, Jose ...yes, mostly free verse

Deep stuff John, remember, failure belongs only to ego, hope belongs to one in motion. Best.

thanks, Doug

I know this kind of feelings, maybe it´s necessary to grew up to see reflection of oneself in a child. And a child must have a very big sensibility and he must feel a very big admiration to identify himself with a mature person (Please, excuse me my possible English mistakes)
Have a nice day

thanks, @mllg - sometimes sensitive children feel responsible for pleasing adults

Thanks for your comment

Back from vacation (Where internet just worked on midnight, if ever) and i find this amazing piece.

Man, today is going to be a good day.

Thank you for sharing!

thanks, @flashfiction - appreciate that

Posts that attract friends ...

thanks

you're welcome.

Same same friend, I also have a new friend post when there is time to visit my block ..

good to read this poem
wonderful job
i like it dear
keep it up
@johnjgeddes

very nice poetry.

what a beautuful poem you must be a great writter

This post has received a 2.01 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

This post has received a 3.07 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

Amazing poerty..
Thanks for sharing it

Beautiful... I too write poems but in hindi.. This poem has touched my heart

This is a sad one, but I am sure your Uncle would have been proud of the man you had become!