Who Would Care?

in #poetry6 years ago



Stars-over-Painted-Desert.jpg



Who would care
If I stopped talking…
Writing…
Breathing?


We all desperately
Need to be heard.

I sometimes go
An entire day
Without speaking

And feel rusty –

But there’s something
More discomfiting
Than a froggy voice;

I never try to practice
My presence,
To impress –

Relying on personality.

I learned long ago
If you want your own voice
You have to become someone first.


Self-doubt will put a squeal
In your voice,
Perhaps even render you mute.

You can’t be taught
To have a voice
Or have a heart.


So, how are you and I alike ?
We are in this:

We use the same words,
But my voice is dark,
From too many nights and stars;

But don't be concerned.
I believe
Love has a voice…

And sounds exactly like yours.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

As always beautiful ... I will miss it if you stop writing because you have a stunning voice and soul

Thank you, anneke - so kind.. as long as I have breath I will continue to speak and write. It's my calling :)

Dark voice,indeed.

thanks, Macie - I noticed your wrote several responses lately and I'd like to reward you, but you didn't vote.Didn't anyone tell you how necessary this is to the steemit blockchain? I do appreciate your comments but your vote is the primary sign of support. Thanks for your response.

Very nice work!