JOGGER (A Poem about a typical Saturday on the streets of Nigeria)

in #poetry4 years ago (edited)

kw3s9po2yg.png
Photo source: Shutterstock

JOGGER

Early on a Saturday morning,
adrenaline flows through his veins,
down his spine and to his heels.
Perspiration pours through his glands
as his feet grind the untarred road
and raise needless dust upon my respiration,
causing a frantic bemusement.

For who runs when none pursues?
Who sweats with so much pleasure?
Who seeks pain in this painful world?

Oh Jogger, dear Jogger,
the sweat and cramp may hurt you not,
but the pace of your feet drives me naught.
I'm out to feel the sun
but you race pass me as if chased by a gun.
I'm out for a little warmth
but you cause a great panic in my thought.

©2020 Jonwrites

Photo source: Shutterstock

Sort:  

This poem was also shared on this tweet by me of course ☺

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

Feel free.