I, Too Sing America

in #poetry5 years ago

What is your definition of America?

I can bet my pretty pennies that we all have our individual answers to this question, of course right? After all, we are all 'individuals' with our own set of 'opinions and morals' that give light to what we see as our guide in life.

I would tell you my true meanings of America, pero, that doesn't seem to have any value at the moment. On the other hand, your answer to me does so please feel free to answer because I would love to read them.

There are many walking amongst us who believe they aren't equal; that they are indeed superior to others whose soul purpose in life is to make America great again. If you are one of those individuals who have this belief, all I can say is that you are right but not in the sense of racial classification; In a sense that you are placed here to live as you see fit but to also spread the power of love, unity, equalness & peace.

After all, what makes us so different from one another aside from way of life and appearances? It may be the fact that I am blessed to know people from across the globe who live in the most beautiful way possible; with eyes the color of kindness, hearts filled with empathy, and a soul eager to connect with others.

My friends, please do not be upset with my rant on the definition of America when it all merely stems from a well written poem but in this poem I got all these feelings and question.

Nevertheless, please enjoy this beautiful poem.

I, Too Sing America by Langston Hughes

I, too, sing America.

I am the darker brother.
They send me to eat in the kitchen
When company comes,
But I laugh,
And eat well,
And grow strong.

Tomorrow,
I'll be at the table
When company comes.
Nobody'll dare
Say to me,
"Eat in the kitchen,"
Then.

Besides,
They'll see how beautiful I am
And be ashamed--

I, too, am America.
Langston Hughes