MY STOLEN TOMORROW [a true life story] an original work

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

My fellow men, work hard so that in your old age you have something for yourself , forget about the children and their mother! You are the only stranger in that family you call yours, that house is for your wife and kids ! My grandfather told me that a married man is like a tractor that builds a road, does it very nicely BUT when the road is completed , they bring a low loader and carry the tractor away claiming it will spoil the road!! That tractor is never allowed to step on the road it built ! Same case to a married man, you deny yourself , get loans , wear used clothes to see your children through high school and college because we believe that the only gift you can give your children in quality education coz there are no more shambas!! When the children hit teenage, now the Father is dispensable, most of these women poison the children against their father, language like "If it wasn't for me you wouldn't have studied, he was only interested in alcohol and women!! Now the tractor is about to be carried away!!! Once the children start working , mzee has retired and when the children come visiting the poor mzee is given two hundred cents in front of the mother , while the mother pulls them to the kitchen and the Father doesn't know what mama has been given! Once the children drive off, the mzee is told to buy sugar with the two hundred cents unless he wants to drink sugarless tea!! These are some of the reasons why men die early and leave widows behind suffering !! I have seen mothers fly abroad to visit their children while the mzee is left at home looking after their two cows, ever wondered why? That poison spread by mothers towards the mzee !!

My fellow men work hard and save something for yourself because nowadays aging without property is almost like a death sentence !!!


Therefore I leave you with a poem ;

STOLEN TOMORROW


sourced from pixabay.com
Do you know the song....
"Parents listen to your children,
For we are the leaders of tomorrow,
Try to pay our school fees,
And give us, a sound education "

I remember singing it heartily as a child.
I so much savored the lyrics,
Cos it gave me the impression
That I have a part to play in my country's future.
Only to grow and find the scripts has been switched.
No longer leaders, but tools of politics.
School has become a battle of the ignorant.
And education, a mud to wallow in.

Our Parents grew and took the future along,
Leaving us to reminisce on yesterday,
And battle with today.

My green of youth is but a tale of whores.
A politician once said......
"Youths are the future of the Nation"
Another......
"Children are the future generations "
Yet another.....
"This hands can spill blood and remain just. The future is in our hands"
what an irony!

I cry for the Youths,
I weep for the newborns,
I wail for the little ones,
Our chapter has been torn,
Our story rewritten in strange languages.
Our lives stolen,
Our future has become a myth as yesterday.

Hands that embezzled millions, stoned the one who stole water.
Fingers dripping blood, crucified the one who stole cassava flakes to survive,
Mouths whose words has killed hopes, sentenced the one who lied to eat a square meal.

Hypocrites! Liars! Thieves! Robbers! Extorts! Name them....
They have stolen my future!
And now we grow from today to yesterday.
Nevertheless, my comfort still lies in the lyrics...... " we are the future generations.
We are the leaders of tomorrow "
Cos one day, I'll live.
One day, I'll understand the language of my scripts.

THE END


WORDS TO WATCH OUT FOR;

MZEE means father


my dear readers, do visit again to enjoy another flower of poetry. Thanks for stopping by

Happy belated Easter to @surpassinggoggle @acidyo @anomadsoul


lf7qso7hftnfnic5e1be.gif

In poetry,
@Kabeertijani

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!