MUST YOU

in #poetry6 years ago

MUST YOU

Must you keep bringing up my past,
Must you keep throwing my mistakes in my face,
Must you keep reminding me of my faults,
Must you, I ask?
Imagesource
couple-marriage-angry-sad-argument-bad-relationship-sitting-couch-home-64703649.jpg

I told you everything about me because I didn't want any surprises,
I wanted you to know everything there is to know about me,
I wanted you to know of who I was,
So no one could ever come to say anything you didn't know.
Imagesource
love-3187624__340.jpg

What a big mistake that was,
You claim to have forgiven me of my past,
Though I see nothing for you to forgive cos it's not your right,
It's only God that can forgive me, and also me forgiving myself.

Anytime an argument comes up you're so quick to judge me,
You're so quick to cast aspersions on my person cos of my past,
You're so quick to bring up my old ways and the scars left behind..
Was it a crime trusting you with my past?
Imagesource
girl-638061_640.jpg

Yes I know I lived my life recklessly in the past,
I lived a life I'm so ashamed of now,
I lived a life headed for total destruction,
I lived a life I can proudly say I've totally left behind.

So who are you to keep making me feel guilty,
I never knew better then, never knew any different then,
I have realized the errors of my ways and forsaken them,
So who are you to keep judging me with them?

So from now I refuse to let you make me feel guilty for who I was,
I refuse to give you power over me,
I'm learning to forgive myself and I won't let you hinder that,
So I'm letting you go.
Imagesource
portrait-119851_640.jpg

Thanks for the friendship but no thanks,
I don't need you pulling down the little confidence I've built,
I'm learning to love myself and be a better person,
I hope you do as well.

Written by @kweenzykruzy

Sort:  

👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽

Loading...