Not Without You

in #poetry7 years ago

I see you from afar,
like a beautiful lit star.
Your energy is attracting me,
with a force I can see.
I am determined to give one last chance,
especially in this circumstance.

As I begin to walk towards you,
my heart is red and not blue.
My hands are sweating,
knowing this could be upsetting.
Finally I get to your table,
but my voice seems unable.

I sit across and look into your eyes,
though you may feel I have a disguise.
A few minutes go by before you begin to get up and go,
but this makes me want to shout, "No! No! No!"
"Enough is enough," I say,
"I am going to do something before you walk away."

"Hey," I say,
I fear that word might have just ruined your day.
"Hey," you say back with a smile,
wow! I have not felt this in a while.
"Can I go with you," I cautiously ask,
then you say, "Only if you take off that mask."