STEEMIT, WILL YOU MARRY ME?

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


ODE TO MY LOVE


Oh, blessed Steemit,
N’er again forsake me!
If ever we shall part, ever will I find thee
And forever bind thee, in mine heart.


My love for thee and thine for me--
Two golden strands braided in heav’n.
Thread for thread, two hearts now one,
N’er to split or fray.
Made to weave the perfect part
Eternal macrame.

Steemit, oh Steemit, will you marry me?


THE HACKER


A few weeks ago I found my network compromised and lost access to my Steemit account! It was such an unbelievable disappointment. I thought Steemit and I would be forever estranged from one another. My heart was broken.....But alas, my worst fears were NOT realized, and I was able to recover my account. Steemit and I are together at last.

Someone I used to know had hacked into my home network and started posing as me, sending harassing messages to people from my email account, calling people from my phone, sending texts from my SMS service to people I knew, posting harassing content on my Facebook feed, sending in tips to police from my tablet pretending I was in trouble and needed their help.

Police? What?


Twice, in the middle of the night, police showed up at our door because of allegations of some kind of danger, when there was none. We were fast asleep. We had someone spying on us outside our house, coming into our back yard and trying to get in the back door, ringing the doorbell in the middle of the night several times throughout the night. And we could never catch them! It was a nightmare.

We had to lock everything down. We unplugged and wiped all the devices in the house, reset passwords to all our accounts, installed new antivirus, set up new accounts, spoke with police, consulted with attorneys, came up with a legal plan of action, and basically started over. I'm telling you, it has been by far one of the most unsettling, upsetting, violating experiences I have had in my life.

To top it off, I lost access to my Steemit account in the process. I'm not exactly sure how it happened, but it was not what I needed on top of it all.

Fortunately, I was able to recover my account. I guess that is possible in certain circumstances. But it was a panic there for a few days. A little part of me died inside. Like a bird. A canary, maybe. Or a partrige? Maybe even a finch. Who knows. But it was a bird. I know that much.

I am so happy to be back, I have written Steemit a poem and asked it to marry me so we will never part.

I hope Steemit says yes.

Sort:  

That sounds like quite the ordeal! I'm glad you were able to at least recover your account. I haven't been here long, but i admit, I'd be lost without it too. 😊

It was an ordeal, and is not over yet....but well on its way.

Oh my goodness! That's awful! We missed you and are glad you're back!

It has been a nightmare. The whole thing. I'm glad to be back too. It's crazy how much I missed it. I didn't even want to think about it cuz it made me so sad.

I'm sure you would have rebuilt what you had, regardless, but it's surely nice not to start from scratch.

Well, that's a lovely sentiment. And yes, I would have rebuilt. But gee whiz I'm glad I don't have to!