Lukasz Korbanski #2 - Two souls

in #poetry5 months ago

Lukasz Korbanski #2
Two souls

The Return of the Red Balloon (1).png

Back to square one, something tells me we ain’t done;
I think there’s more to us than we can see.
When I’m sittin’ on my bed with a beer and in my head,
I think I see things just as they should be.

Blame it on the whiskey or the blues, not the bible, dear.
I’ve seen it all before, but it’s you I fear.
Father up above, know my love is above all things.
Who cares what they think or what it all brings?

Maybe that this can be the one
chance we get to see the sun
rising over us as we awake.
It’s been a while since you and I
spoke, but now I think it’s time
that we take it further than the lakes.

Look me in the eyes, but tonight let me sleep in peace.
On second thought, dear, join me in my sheets.
Times are moving fast and at last, we are older now.
I hope there’s more in store for us both somehow.

Well, I guess I lost my will to pen,
which I knew will one day happen,
but what’s worse is that I lost you too.
And I don’t even know if you
think about me and if two
souls like ours could e’en make it through.

I’ve torn up all the recent allegations, I am naked now.
No past; a blank canvas if you just allow.