scars on my body

in #poetry3 years ago

white (4).png

scars on my body and mind and my heart;
balloons infiltrated both me and my art.
pull me apart just to put me together.
either leave now or stay with me forever.

5 years ago in havana with jagger;
things won't make sense and some things will not matter,
but still i will decorate this poetry
with parts of me that aren't known to ye.

flee the bar early to write you a song.
crowded rooms make me feel like i belong;
they're not the issue here; i am the problem.
so many mysteries, but i don't wish to solve them.

scars on my body remind me of you.
out all alone; it's just me and the view
of these futile feeling fleeing my mind;
these pages the only home they can find.

5 years ago, time stood still; in my arms
was a balloon; a deadly drug that harms,
but how can you say that with a straight face?
at the bottom of the bottle is where we part ways.

flee the bar early to go and get stoned.
how come you didn't pick up when i phoned?
i'm in an alley of torture, at the crossroads of time,
committing no felonies, 'less loving you is a crime.

and i'm in no position to alter my mood
with a night in your bedding, both you and i nude.
it is killing me slowly, but surely it kills;
i'll die at 27, somewhere in the hidden hills.

the concept of time is eerie and vague,
like the proof that we're given of this whole plague,
but who am i to change the world if i cannot change me?
letting things be is the key, strangely.

halley's comet and mars; a cultural muse,
like these drugs and this alcohol we love to abuse
to forget about the past, erasing bad memories.
we don't count on each other but count our calories.