POETRY | Best Laid Plans

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


Best Laid Plans

He hears the words a thousand ways
And each a cut so deep
The blood of martyrs rinsed his soul
Yet he sits
In Silence
As words fall over him like rain

He ponders upon the words once heard
They tore at all he knew
Not one to shoot the messenger
So he froze
A sense of shock
His recollection now from borrowed source

It's in you
But it shouldn't be
We can't say how it came about
But we'll take it
From you
Until it returns
Another day
That's what he hears them say

So he sits
In silence
Frozen
Perhaps in shock
He remembers a statement
About best laid plans
And now he waits
For it's return

enter image description here



Images sourced from unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya


Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Links to earlier works

- Fiction
My Fiction Writing Collection
Writing Myself Out of Existence
When the Levee Breaks
Reality Fading
Lessons Learned From a Dying Man - includes audio version.

Book Reviews
The Switch - Elmore Leonard
A Glitch In The World - Alex Drozd
All The Light We Cannot See - Anthony Doerr
Where Epics Fail - Yahia Lababidi
Hellbent - Gregg Hurwitz
1Q84 - Haruki Murakami
Soon - Lois Murphy
The Girl Who Played With Fire - Stieg Larsson
American Gods - Neil Gaiman
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep - Philip K. Dick
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo - Stieg Larsson
Altered Carbon - Richard Morgan
Fight Club - Chuck Palahniuk
Crooked God Machine - Autumn Christian

Audio Poetry
The Dance of Destiny and Fate
One Day, Just Not Today



Sort:  

Where is the spoken word version!? You Curie fans demand it!! Seriously though, after hearing you recite your poems, I feel like it's the missing piece that puts your poetry over the top, mate. I've long been a fan of your lyrical stylings. You write poetry like you write stories, yet it reads like a song. Every line feels like it's a melody that's pleasing to the ears, while delivering a gripping tale. You have that power, so never doubt that, mate.

One day again, I promise. Can't let the fans down! And thanks for the great feedback. I tend to have a melody in my head as I write the words. That's just how I learned to write poetry, but also trying to study how others do it. Especially those who do it well to @beginningtoend. I think this is one of my more deliberate attempts at telling a story in poetry. I was actually surprised by the outcome, which is why I never got around to recording it. Just wrote and published, really. But I'll see how I go with the next one.

Heiya...the first of ur work that i am now reading. Simple and effective.

Thanks. It is a little different to my usual style. Was trying something different, a more deliberate story attempt, in poetry. I think it worked out okay.

The message gets send across beautifully. That is what poetry is about. No one right way of doing things.

Very true, and glad you could see it, and feel it.

This is awesome. I love how every time I settled into the rhythm of a section you broke my expectations. I’m with @jedau up above, I want to hear the spoken word version now--DTUBE POST?! :) Nice work!

Yes, I do need to get back into recording these. I did a few of them and enjoyed it. Written words flow easier, but speaking them seems more of an effort at times. Odd, I know. But it adds an extra important dimension to the work. Thanks you for your feedback and visit. It's appreciated, as always.

:-) Well, I’m just saying, if you recorded it, it would be GREAT for my art mix-up contest, hehe. See you around!

Thank you @naquoya for poetry that eats at my heart. Plans are laid and we wait for return.

These words stand out the most:

The blood of martyrs rinsed his soul
Yet he sits
In Silence
As words fall over him like rain

The redemption of reconciliation caused his soul to overflow in words meaning to be returned.

Thank you

You've provided me with some great feedback now, and I appreciate it. Glad to know this spoke to you, direct to your heart.

This is so deep and wonderful. And yeah like @jedau said, I want the spoken version of it too. I don't like listening to audios much but your audio poems are really nice. I missed being on your blog and of those of my favorite people here since was busy with family so coming back to this poem feels really good. :)

Thank you, good to see you. Yes I will need to get back into recording these. It does add to them. Thank you for letting me know.

Hope you and your family are well, you've been missed :)

Part of every good plan is a footnote- unforeseen actions may alter the outcome.

A motto for life.

Sucks! My bf is going through this. I'm sorry.

It's okay, just learning to write about it from a third person perspective. Wanted to see how it felt, for me personally, and as a piece of writing. Thank you.

Nice read.. Thanks

Thanks, glad you think so.

The reaction to the events is very difficult
And harder it's not reacting

Sometimes you just have to go with the flow. Life is bigger than us.

WOW, please, you should sing this @naquoya ! 🎼

xx
your fellow #steemitbloggers

@elenahornfilm

I'm no singer. I have recorded spoken word before, but wouldn't insult my audience by making them listen to my very flat singing voice :)

Nice post and I like your pict.

I upvote for you and please give feedback at my short poetry https://steemit.com/poetry/@anggreklestari/empty-heart-without-the-art-of-loving

Happy Steeming and have a great day.

Just learnt something about poem writing today from you. I love the delivery!