caged thoughts

in #poetry6 years ago

I am in a cage that resembles the four walls of my room

the mind craves metaphors to compare the proverbial to the physical

fear comprises the brick and mortar that builds walls and enclosed places

that stifle personal goals and pursuits of inspiration

pens write on their own

loosely guided by brains experiencing temporary relief

to express the free flow of thoughts that stream our consciousness

there are so many things I don’t understand.

my soul cries as i step inside realms I cannot fully comprehend

I cannot help but feel these are the places I am supposed to be

the path winds so much i’m constantly losing my footing of what’s right side up

fear relinquishes you to the path most walked

yet that is not who I am
Screen Shot 2018-05-01 at 3.38.28 PM.png
artwork by @vidpen

𝒯𝒽𝒶𝓃𝓀𝓈 𝒻𝑜𝓇 𝓇𝑒𝒶𝒹𝒾𝓃𝑔 𝓂𝓎 𝓌𝑜𝓇𝓀 𝓈𝓉𝑒𝑒𝓂𝒾𝒶𝓃𝓈 𝓇𝑒𝓂𝑒𝓂𝒷𝑒𝓇 𝓉𝑜 𝓊𝓅𝓋𝑜𝓉𝑒, 𝓇𝑒𝓈𝓉𝑒𝑒𝓂, 𝒶𝓃𝒹 𝒸𝑜𝓂𝓂𝑒𝓃𝓉!

Sort:  

Sounds like the razor-edged path you're on....

careful not to fall off haha