Let's Love Again

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

You look ever more beautiful than I could have imagined
I was wise to have had you, a fool to let you go, and stupid to push you away
Now I see you, you're back, are you?
Did I let you go and you returned?
I guess not, cause you over there with him

Hold on, I know him
He usually.... emm... damn it, I can't think of any fault
He doesn't shout, anger easily or break stuff
He always made you laugh
I guess he's cool, you chose better

I can't help myself
I flashback to those days
Just us, no money, no fake friends, no cars
When I would feed you Jellof just before piping
When the goal was to make you happy
Now I got more of those, but lost the One

Why did I lie, why were you calm
Why did I cheat, why did you stay
Why was I after the money, and you... my heart,
Why was I selfish, why did you love me.

You stole my heart
I know I should say , but can't say
Are you on steemit, can you see this
I hope so , I hope not, i don't know, but I want you to know
You are not perfect, but you are the best for me
You are beautiful, you're my baby and I always love you
Don't want to ruin what you guys got, but can't help think it should have been us
Maybe it will
Maybe you not forgiven me, Maybe you have
Maybe we were never meant to be, I don't agree
But what can I do now, If not love you from afar, with hopes of someday to approach closer

Sort:  

I enjoyed reading your poetry. The obvious agony and inner turmoil that the character was experiencing after a breakup was palpable. I also liked the images of wine inserted throughout the verses which could indicate the person may have been finding solace in alcohol without the company of his lost love. Deep.

What a read... you saw right through me

Poetry is always open to interpretation, but your words and images communicated some very strong emotions. Keep writing, you are good at this. 😊