The Great Man

in #poetry6 years ago

I chase after her in hot pursuit
like my destiny is on the line
my hands swing from each side

My lungs ache from excessive breathing
up and down they heave
my dark skin, their only clothing
my heart races for lack of peace

She slows down now
almost within reach
I heave a sigh of relief
Just a little further, I say

But, with each step
I'm further weakened
time ticks faster
the muscles in my legs tighten

I am face to face with her now
the smile on my face slowly becomes a frown
I wonder at this
For I should be happy

Then suddenly
as if awoken from a dream
I am touched by reality
my young days are gone

I am ridden with sorrow
for even though I have her
indeed I am alone

All I can do now is plan
plan for my future
my exit from this land
for now I am on the run.

Sort:  

I gave you some lovin How bout you give me some too?

You guys should stop asking for followers and upvotes. Go and do good jobs on your blogs and leave peoples comment line alone

excellent way to help and explain to him how to do it right!

Lovely.. I wish i could write like you

Thank you! @iamcaesar
I feel flattered that you would say that

This is good

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ossyjay to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Very nice. You are resteemed.

such a lovely poem @ossyjay I feel the story, love, heartache and fight...deserve to added at my #newbieresteem day!

Thanks for the love! @sweetcha...I hope to produce more meaningful content

my pleasure @ossyjay just keep going I know you can, ...until your next post😊