Songs To Say Earth 4

in #poetry6 years ago

Ignorant Consumption
puddle.jpg
She was the folk tail
We passed along
From book to book.
We left her lying
Unhappily pregnant
In a pool of sweat
That evaporated
Into a salt lick
Some fowl or beast
Came to take
That we later ate
And Never knew
She lurked about.
A wisp too obvious.

Psalm 25:5 Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long.

Psalm 43:3 Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling!

Psalm 86:11 Teach me your way, O LORD, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name.

Sort:  

I find your poem coupled with the three passages an interesting pairing. The elusive sentiment I find in your work, coupled with the longing and seeking in the Psalms speaks to my own heart and how even in moments when I can most clearly recognize my longing for God and Gods ways there is still a sort of questing / seeking that goes along with that. Good but sometimes elusive that quest. Peace

I wrote this a long time ago, but my sense of this poem is that it is about how readily available truth is, and how we abuse it until it just evaporates and is recycled into other venues which we may unknowingly consume. I don't like to leave too much ambiguity, hence a few Psalms to show that God can lead and show us the way to truth that will ultimately not be elusive. Let's unite with God's truth. I appreciate your wrestling with it.

...kind of like love, truth, hope and a great many other things worth having/receiving/ enjoying that too often get abused... good word to wrestle with. Thanks for offering it up!

Awesome post! I invite you to visit our blog and vote us back! And of course to enjoy our content :)

Thank you for the Bible verses and poem.